Swaziland


Advertisement
Swaziland's flag
Africa » Swaziland » Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
October 12th 2016
Published: October 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Arrived into our camp in Swaziland on Tuesday after a very hot journey. I had a bizarre experience at the border where a very happy border man vigorously shook my hand!!

We stayed in a game park which because it had no cats meant we could walk around. The food there was excellent and we even ate Impala which is a type of antelope.

We stayed in more beehive type huts with a sliding door which I again had to crawl into. We shared the camp with warthogs and antelopes! I tried to take a picture of the mother warthog but she came at me and I nearly fell over.

On Tuesday evening after our evening meal we watched traditional Swazi singing and dancing, including high kicks from the men and women.

On Wednesday we went on a short walk to look at the beautiful birds in the area. Our guide Nicco managed to get us lost a few times. We then went to meet a female chief who looks after 100 orphaned children. They raise money by putting on cultural interpretations of traditional life. This involved lots singing and dancing. The women of our group picked up the Swazi words better than the men! I even tested out a traditional bed whilst being sung a lullaby!

In the afternoon me and a few members of the group went on a bike ride. The ground was not easy to ride but in places and there was no guard over the gears so I managed to rip the bottom of my trousers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb