Driving Around the Park


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
November 24th 2012
Published: June 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Low Tide01 Low Tide01 Low Tide

The view of the beach during low tide.
Geo: -28.1226, 32.5566

This morning the guys were going fishing later on due to the tides, so no-one got up ridiculously early. After we all had breakfast, Paul and I went for a short walk along the beach. At this stage today was a beautiful, clear sunny day.

When we got back the guys got ready and went fishing. I went back to the beach, lay in the sun and read my book.

At about midday I decided to go for a game drive. I drove along the Grassland Loop, along the way passing Manyamanya Pan, Lake Bhangazi, Swamp Forest, the Red Dunes, sat in the hide at Mafanaza Pan, stopped at Catalina Bay and then drove back to the cabin. During my drive I stopped at most of the animal sightings and really took my time, as there was no rush and I was in charge of the drive!

Firstly I stopped to watch a pair of dagga boys, they were just sitting on the grass not even looking at me, so I didn't stay long. It was a little bit windy this afternoon and I think this affected my sightings.

I stopped to watch a pair of Egyptian Geese
02 Low Tide02 Low Tide02 Low Tide

The view of the beach during low tide.
preening their feathers. I also saw a male bushbuck, a herd of male kudus, mother zebras and calves, wildebeests, an old male buffalo eating grass, a Wooly Necked Stork, a female and male Common Reedbuck, a warthog with a very muddy face, a large herd of wildebeests, herd of waterbuck, a herd of kudu females and their young crossing the track in front of me and hippos and a croc seen from Catalina Bay Hide.

I had planned to sit at the hide at Catalina Bay, but there were a few very noisy, inconsiderate families here, so I didn't stay long. Instead I wished I had chilled at Mafanaza Hide because there was no one else there.

On the way back I stopped to watch the animals on a hill. There were zebras, kudus and three white rhinos. They were all busy eating grass. Just before the campsite I saw a timid female bushbuck.

I returned from my game drive just after 3pm. I again sat on the deck and did some reading until the guys returned from fishing. Again, it was another good day for the fish 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

03 Low Tide03 Low Tide
03 Low Tide

The view of the beach during low tide.
04 Low Tide04 Low Tide
04 Low Tide

The view of the beach during low tide.
05 Rock Pools05 Rock Pools
05 Rock Pools

There wasn't much in this rock pool.
06 View06 View
06 View

The view of the beach during low tide.
07 Dagga Boys07 Dagga Boys
07 Dagga Boys

A pair of dagga boys sitting on the grass.
08 Lake08 Lake
08 Lake

A part view of Lake Bhangazi.
09 Lake09 Lake
09 Lake

A part view of Lake Bhangazi.
10 Camp10 Camp
10 Camp

A part view of Lake Bhangazi.
11 View11 View
11 View

A part view of Lake Bhangazi.
12 Swamp12 Swamp
12 Swamp

A part view of the Mfabeni Swamp.
13 Swamp13 Swamp
13 Swamp

A part view of the Mfabeni Swamp.
14 Bushbuck14 Bushbuck
14 Bushbuck

A male bushbuck in the swamp.
15 Scenery15 Scenery
15 Scenery

The scenery near the red dunes.
17 Zebras & a Wildebeest17 Zebras & a Wildebeest
17 Zebras & a Wildebeest

Zebras and wildebeest walking along.
18 Kudus18 Kudus
18 Kudus

Male kudus walking away.
19 Stork19 Stork
19 Stork

A Wooly Necked Stork.
20 Dagga Boy20 Dagga Boy
20 Dagga Boy

A lonesome old, male buffalo.
21 Scenery21 Scenery
21 Scenery

A view of the scenery near the Red Dunes.
22 Scenery22 Scenery
22 Scenery

A view of the scenery near the Red Dunes.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb