Shit we're being hunted by Zulu


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
June 26th 2014
Published: June 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Firstly let me explain who Zulu is. He is the big alpha male lion on the reserve and we ran into him in the bush at sunset when our truck broke down. Today was by far the best so far!
We've formed quite fun little group here of me, Sami, Laura, Shanice, dan, tom, Callum, Ella and sometimes George. We tend to eat, go on drives and spend the evenings together. We're a fairly sarcastic group so it's always fun. This was who we were with when we ran into Zulu and later an angry hippo!

We started the day as we usually do with manual work, today involved the new group watering plants while me and Callum carted them to the others to plant. Whilst having a discussion on religion, he's quite intelligent so it wasn't too bad.

After the usual boring breakfast me, tom, Laura and Shanice finalised our cage diving plans for this weekend. I'm giddy with excitement! We then drove to a local school. Driving through the town and seeing their houses which were effectively tin huts got to me quite a bit. It really does make you realise how much we take for granted. Once arriving at the school I quickly realised that I was surrounded by some of the happiest children I think I'll ever meet. They're obsessed with cameras and seeing themselves so lots of photos were taking. Two in particular, a boy and a girl, took a liking to my sunglasses which were miles to big for them. We spent a lot of time doing shoulder wars and playing on the swings. I really didn't want to leave.

Game count next. Our task was to count zebra, it sounds boring but it really wasn't especially when you come across a lioness and her four cubs. On our way back peters land rover which is temperamental at the best of times decided to break down just as we had seen zulu's fresh tracks and when me Laura and Callum were dying for the toilet. Fifteen fairly scary minutes later we were rescued! Here is when we came across Zulu in the fresh along with another male lion marking their territory and tracking a herd of wildebeest around the hippos water source. Needless to say the hippo wasn't pleased and began to make threatening noises that I can't even begin to explain! We tracked them for a while after this in the hope of seeing them hunt but no luck.

I had the opportunity of going on a night drive which turned me into granny Tye as I was both tired at 8pm and wrapped in a lot of blankets! We managed to come across a herd of elephants grazing and while we watched a group of impala ran past which indicated they were being chased by something - we guessed at lions. That was mainly it for the night drive.

Today has been fantastic, I really couldn't have asked for a more perfect day especially as it was about 27 degrees!

The phrase "time flies when you're having fun" has never been more appropriate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb