CRAGS


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape
January 29th 2012
Published: January 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wow what a day! Now we are really getting the feel of South Africa.

Not only is this country breath takingly beautiful (I don't think any photographs can do it justice - you just have to come and visit and see it for yourselves) but the wildlife is just amazing.



We started the day in an elephant sancturay where we learned all about these rather impressive creatures, before walking with them - trunk in hand - into the forest where we learned some more and interacted with these suprisingly gentle animal. After walking back we fed them before saying our goodbyes.



After a coffee and cake we continued to monkey land where I was rather tempted to sneak one of the baby monkeys into my bag to take home. But living with one cheeky monkey is enough and Mark would never fit into my handbag so I settled for taking a million photos instead.



We then went to Birds of Eden which we weren't expecting to enjoy as much as we did and we had a well desrved break here.



Our final stop was the Cheetah sanctuary where we got to walk into the enclosures with the spotty pussy cats which also included some cubs. We got to see a range of different wild cats and most empressive was the leopard. Missing my little Bisli and Bamba....



We also got to see some meerkats (Again... I wanted to take one who I nicked named Sargay - home with me), tortoises and some more exotic birds.



We finished the day off in a lovely restaurant back on the Plettenberg Bay - Lemongrass before I got to engage in yet another spot of packing.



Best get some sleep as have an early start tomorrow...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb