Love Is


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Wilderness
December 6th 2014
Published: December 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This weeks blog is going to be a bit different, it's not going to be about our travels, there is no mention of dolphins, whales or how good the restaurants are. I am being reflective and mushy and am going to tell you a little story (sure somebody famous coined that phrase!)Today it is 12 years ago since I first met Baz. We met one fateful evening in the Ship in Lytham, me with all my friends and he with his Frec buddies. I would like to say our eyes met across a crowded dance floor but that would just be ridiculous. Anyway meet we did and spent the evening chatting, his buddies left and went back to Frec for a Chinese and Baz stopped and we spent the rest of the evening deep in conversation. The beer mat was peeled in two as was the custom then a phone number written down and after much nervousness on Baz's part he eventually managed to make the phone call the next day and a date was arranged for the Sunday. We had a stroll round Fairhaven lake and a buttie and drink followed in the pub. We dated for six months and I have to say it was good, I really thought he brought out the best in me and I know it gave him a reason to get up in the morning and sing in the shower. As I recall it was "strangers in the night" It was the little things, the love notes left in my car, the balloons and champagne sent to work for maximum embarrassment (sorry Baz) the thoughtful cards and yes the roses and sound system left on my doorstep on Valentines day! Romantic trips to gay Paris, Moulin Rouge and a late night hot dog! It was the shared beliefs and the knowing looks, it was good but alas all these things were only half the story, Unfortunately after the six months I dumped him! (His words) It was not the right time for either of us, he was still reeling after coming out of a 30 year marriage and well I had had a turbulent relationship that probably wasn't quite over in my head! In the three years that we spent apart we kept in contact, birthday, Christmas cards the odd letter and an occasional meal out. We both had different relationships in that time and in the main it was fine but I always knew we would someday get back together (Baz says I'm conseited). On one of our meals out I told him that we should get back together and after he picked himself off the floor and thought about it he agreed. We have spent the last nine years building a relationship that is more than wonderful. It has been rocky in places but what long term relationship isn't at some point but hand on heart I can honestly say that I have never been truly this happy in a relationship ever. My Bazzi is my inspiration, my buddy, my rock and shoulder and someone that I need to wake upto every day to make my life complete in every way. I am so very blessed, I have the most wonderful family, fantastic parents and a sister who is my best friend, two boys that I adore and am extremely proud of and friends that cannot be replaced because they are all fab but mostly it's my husband who makes everything and every day special. My life has never been so good and for it all I am extremely grateful. Somebody said to me before we came away "god you must really like your husband, she said my mum and dad love each other but after two weeks together they need some space" I have to say this thought never occurred to me and thankfully yes I do quite like him so being together 24/7 for twelve months will be lovely.

Sorry to anyone who is now reaching for the sick bucket but sometimes you just need to say these things, feel the love people and to all you synics no I have not been at the bottle all day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb