I love my friends...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wine Tasting!Wine Tasting!Wine Tasting!

at the first wine farm...the barrels are where they keep the wine to mature
4 weeks and counting....wow. I can't imagine leaving my home in Stellenbosch...

This past week has been by far the fastest week ever. in fact, every week gets shorter and shorter. I guess this one felt so short because I was crazy busy with finals and papers. Luckily my 20 page community development paper got extended till Wednesday - thank goodness. Let's see, had my Afrikaans written exam on Wednesday-let's just say I'm thankful that it's only worth 15% of my grade. :P And the oral exam is this following Wednesday...Luckily I'm with Julia and Stefanie so we are getting together and making a script of what we want to talk about.

Monday I finally got to wine tasting!! Went with Pia and Stefanie and some other german friends of Pia's. We went to 6 wine farms and left at 9:30am and were finished around 5pm. :P WOW it was grrreat! yum yum yum. I bought a few bottles which I will be sending back home as of tomorrow morning. It was also interesting because the last wine farm we went to was Delheim! It was.....different visiting the wine farm as a tourist instead as a volunteer....I actually ran into Colleen, one of the teachers. Maybe I'm biased but Delheim had some of the best wines.

Last night was Irina's 26th birthday!! We went to a sokkie dance in Bellville (a town right outside of Cape Town) and a great time.

So this was my last week at Delheim Wine Farm with the kids in the After School Club....My last day was pretty perfect. Pebbles Project had dropped off a bunch of board games and I played some Pictionary (wow what a great game) and spent some time with the creche kids. At the end of the day one of the children presented me with a Pebbles T-Shirt and we all said our goodbyes. It was sad to leave but....I feel very at peace with it. I'm ready to move on and start working with other populations. I brought some flowers for the teachers and apples for the children. Before I left two of the older girls came up to me and told me how much they had enjoyed having me around and that they were really going to miss me. ohh it was very touching. These were girls that I had enjoyed but had never really spent a lot of time with unfortunately. Hmm...this leads me to what I wanted to write a little about...

Pia and Stefanie are leaving for a trip on the 25th....in 10 days! sigh...I really don't want to accept it yet. I don't want to accept that I have to say goodbye for possibly forever to two girls that have become some of my most amazing friends. I will never meet anyone else like them and I HAVE to visit Germany sometime very very soon....perhaps a graduation present for next spring? 😉 Anyway, I can't even describe how much I love them. I am bummed that no one from home could visit....how I wish that you guys at home could have met all my friends and this beautiful country. I am soooo excited to be home with my love, my friends, and ride the bus! yaya! but......I don't want to leave. this has been my life the last 4 months....yikes...i guess this is what I came for though, right? Such unique amazing experiences..

oh yah...leaving for Kruger park in less than 3 weeks!!!

Alrighty....sleepy and ready for bed. I love you all so much and can't wait to see you!

Peace & Love,
Ashley





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

DelheimDelheim
Delheim

Most of the kids in the After School Club
omgomg
omg

the most amazingly cutest boy EVER. Seanlee.
FriendsFriends
Friends

at Irina's party
boom (tree in afrikaans)boom (tree in afrikaans)
boom (tree in afrikaans)

Julia and I enjoying this amazing tree on our way to class
RugbyRugby
Rugby

At Eben's (Irina's bf) rugby game
randomrandom
random

picture I found from my Service Learning Community Development field trip back in April..... SLCD!! we are such clever kids.


17th May 2008

thank you
Ashley, thank you so much for your entries. I LOVE reading them, and looking at your pictures. I'm glad you've made some close friends, and hope you will be able to maintain a life-long relationship with them. The worst thing that could happen is that you'll only be left with ALL THE WONDERFUL MEMORIES !! =). It sounds like your continuing to find ways to enjoy yourself, I'm happy your scholastic endevours aren't leaving you without time too play. Stay safe, and come home healthy. Love, Dad.

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb