Day 20: The Ups and Downs of Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
April 27th 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I could get used to this sleeping in a bed again, although last night's drinking session with the guide did result in me getting up a little later than planned!!! However, with it being Freedom Day here in South Africa, I anticipated on everyone being late.

Sure enough, breakfast was a little later than of previous and we didn't leave until about 09h30. It was a short drive through the relatively quiet streets to Table Mountain where the day's activities were to take place.

Although it was still relatively early and although it's officially autumn, it was already warm when we arrived at the cable car station at the bottom of Table Mountain. We'd been told to bring water and a hat and I'd decided not to take the camera today. Getting out of the Big Red Bus, our guide confirmed that we were happy to walk up to the summit and, after having got the appropriate affirmation, pointed in a vague sort of way towards the route we'd be taking.

Hat on, walking boots on, water bottle strapped to my trousers, I took the first few steps up the mountain. David, the guide led, with the three Dutch following whilst I took up the rear with Jerry. After about 10 minutes, I found the going a little slow and walked passed the three Dutch and continued up the first relatively steep slope until I met up with David at the top. We waited roughly 10 minutes for the whole group to assemble and then set off on the relative flat second stage. This was easy going, traversing the mountain for about a mile, neither going up nor down. When asked about the way to the top, David pointed into the distance, indicating the location of the path upwards, although, to be honest, I couldn't see it.

Coming to a stream, David took a cooling drink and we both waited until the others had caught up. We were now at the end of the second stage and David pointed to the path and reconfirmed whether we'd like to continue upwards. We all agreed although he did point out that it wouldn't be easy.

Taking the bull by the horns, I followed David, leaving the others at the bottom. Initially, it was straightforward with evenly spaced rocks providing steady, yet strenuous footings. However, each time I looked
Robben Island in the bayRobben Island in the bayRobben Island in the bay

Taken with my phone camera!
up, it seemed that I was making no progress at all and the thin line of people attempting the climb appeared so tiny as they disappeared out of view.

Not one to give up, I set a steady rhythm attempting to maintain a constant left-right left-right, climbing with each step. David had done this before and was now well ahead of me. Setting targets, I slowly but surely began to overtake people and eventually was making steady, realistic progress upwards.

The most difficult part of the ascent was when I could see the summit. This was the first time I could see the destination but also see just how much farther I had to go! Not only that, but the ascent was getting steeper and I was really struggling to maintain a steady rhythm.

Finally, with one concerted effort, I went for the summit - only to find that it wasn't the top at all. Instead, what is classed as the summit is really a valley between both side of Table Mountain. However, David, who'd been waiting for 15 minutes, was there and pointed me in the direction of refreshment. The climb had taken me a very
Along the MountainAlong the MountainAlong the Mountain

Taken with my phone camera!
respectable 90 minutes!!!

I spent an hour wandering around the top of the mountain in the brilliant sunshine before heading off to the coffee shop for a caffeine boost. Roughly 45 minutes after I'd arrived at the top, two of the Dutch turned up, with Jerry. Having recovered, I left the three of them to recuperate before beginning to make the decent down.

Arriving at the top of the path, I met a very exhausted and very hot Joke who'd completed the ascent herself - apparently, after taking many rest stops! However, she'd done it!!!

I was led to believe that the decent down was tiring on the legs due to the jarring they'd receive. So, forewarned, I opted for the French technique in mountain decent and set off like a gazelle. Bounding from rock to rock, I arrived at the bottom exactly 60 minutes after leaving the top.

Jerry was already waiting in the bus having taken the cable car but, being totally exhausted, I went off to get a cooling drink. Returning with an iced drink, I discovered that the others had also taken the cable car and were waiting.

That afternoon, after
View over Cape TownView over Cape TownView over Cape Town

Taken with my phone camera!
everyone had left, I found a sauna and jacuzzi and spent 5 hours pampering my tired limbs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Along the MountainAlong the Mountain
Along the Mountain

Taken with my phone camera!
Follow that Path!Follow that Path!
Follow that Path!

Taken with my phone camera!


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb