Coming home


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 29th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So it has been a pretty great week...except that now I have the flu. I hate being sick, especially in a foreign country. But alas...in two days I will be home.

This trip has gone by so quickly, I can't even believe it. I met up with my friend Matt's friend Ellen last night, and just talking about all of the different issues here and how we have been a part of it was really great, but also overwhelming. I really wish I could have had more time to develop relationships with these children. I feel that I am just beginning to relate to them on a personal level. It is amazing to think of how much I could really get to know them in even 4 months.

So, because of this experience, I have given a great deal of thought to teaching. I still think that high school and college aged students are better for me, but who knows. The good news is, I have so much flexibility right now. It's amazing yet scary at the same time.

Well, not much else has really happened this week. Oh- other than the fact that I played my very first game of netball yesterday. Netball is similar to basketball, except you can't move once you have the ball. I did alright.

Now I am getting ready to leave. Classes have been great. They are beginning to respect me which is awesome. Again, think of what I could have done with 4 months or my own classroom. It just charges me up.

Well I should move along, but thank you for your support this past month and a half. I will see some of you this weekend.

God's peace,
Jill

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb