Spring Flowers


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 27th 2007
Published: August 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My final weekend in South Africa was absolutely BRILLIANT as my roommate Georgina would say. Alyssa and Dana took all of the volunteers (all 5 of us) to Namaqualand which is an area up north. The spring flower season is about a month long, and apparently, we were there during the best time. The mountains and valleys are absolutely covered in orange, yellow, green, pink, red, and purple flowers. We also got to see some ancient rock paintings while we were there. It was an extremely relaxing weekend. We made a fire every night and cooked our food and sat around talking about life, religion, politics, etc. It is really fun to talk about these things with a group of American, English, and a lone neutral Swiss girl. All sorts of perspectives came forward, and it was just really great. Also- all of the volunteers stayed in this brand new chalet that had a thatched roof and a little upper level that you had to get to via ladder. Georgina and I felt like we had our own little hiding place and we definetely made a fort with our comforters. Good times.

Now I am closing out this week, sad to be leaving this wonderful place. I definetely did not get to see everything I wanted to, but I guess that just means I will have to come back. I am a little nostalgic at the moment...feeling not quite ready to go but realizing there are things to do and people to see once I am home. I guess I felt like I was at home here as well...kinda like any attachments we have I guess. It seems similar to leaving Valpo.

Well I do have three days left and I am going to make the most of every moment. Tonight Georgina, Alyssa and I are going to a play about refugees living in South Africa. It seems like it will be pretty powerful. Then tomorrow night, there is a full moon so we are going to climb up one of the mountains. Apparently when there is a full moon at sunset you can see the sun and moon together and they are extremely bright lighting up Table Mountain beautifully. I am really excited.

Well that is all I have for now. I am looking forward to seeing family and friends in a few days.

God's peace,
Jill

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb