Cape Town adventures


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cape TownCape TownCape Town

Sister Bates and I walking around the muslim neighborhood.
Well, after a solid day and a half of traveling, I have finally arrived in Cape Town! After settling in at the house, Katie and I ventured out into downtown Cape Town. The public transportation system here is ridiculous. Basically, there are privately owned Volkswagen vans that drive up and down the streets picking up passengers. The crazy drivers even add to the experience. Not only do they weave in and out of rush hour traffic, but sometimes they'll even use the other side of the road to get around people...even if there's oncoming traffic! It definitely makes for an exciting adventure anytime you have to go somewhere.

The bus dropped us off in downtown Cape Town, where Katie and I walked around for a little bit. I was a little bit nervous walking around downtown because I didn't blend in very well, but everything went smoothly and people were very nice. One of my favorite things were all of the animals that wander the streets. My favorite was a little two month old puppy that was running around Cape Town with his owner- I got a pretty good picture with the little pup. After walking around downtown, Katie
Cape TownCape TownCape Town

Katie Bates and I on the waterfront in Cape Town
and I came back to the house and took a little nap.

At night, Katie's roommates joined us for dinner at a nice steak house. For dinner, I had zebra, wilda beast, and ostrich- they were all very tasty. To top off the night, we went out for a few drinks at a bar close to Katie's house. The trip back to Katie's house after the bar was quite exciting. Three ladies, all incredibly drunk or on drugs, tried to squeeze into an already packed Volkswagen bus. The taxi driver tried to get them to leave, but they refused. So, he ended up shoving one of them out of the bus. This enraged the other two ladies, who took their purses and began beating on the bus driver. After throwing a few jabs back, he hopped back into the bus, closed the door, and ripped off! Well, my time at the internet cafe is running out. Hopefully there are some more exciting times to come!



Advertisement



20th June 2007

I'm envious already-
21st June 2007

Got me chuckling at 6AM
Hey, Chris. Your description of the ladies getting onto the the taxi got me chuckling. Your mouth must have been wide open in amazement when that was going down. Quite the exotic diner you are! No wonder the osterich sticks its head in the sand; it doesn't want to see you eat it! Sounds like a blast. Enjoy Robben Island and the good weather. Squeeze in the outdoor fun soon. It looks like Sunday is going to be a wet one if you can believe the forcasters. Will you be on your mini trip then? Looking forward to much fun reading.
21st June 2007

Great to hear from you.
I'm glad that you made it safe. The story about the taxi ride home was classic!!! Keep the stories coming.
25th June 2007

Adventure awaits
Hi Toe - Sounds like you are having many great adventures already. Love reading your blog. It's a great way to keep us updated. Mugged for a buck! That sure puts things in perspective. I'm praying that is the last of that type of encounter!! Give Katie a big hug for me and one for you too. Annie
27th June 2007

Your Favorite!
Hi Chris - I think about you and Katie often - know you're having a wonderful time - we have to have a big party at Camano when you get back!!! Love to you both, Nanc

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb