Cape Town adventures


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, my trip thus far has been interesting to say the least. Right now, at 4:15 in the morning, I find myself trying to fix a paper (my very last undergrad essay) that I turned in a couple days before I left for South Africa. The problem started on Tuesday when I check my final grade for the 2 credit indepent study class that I was taking spring quarter. The only requirement for two credits was that I had to write an 8-10 page essay by the end of the quarter. Unfortunately, the teacher suspected that I was guilty of plagarism and gave me an incomplete grade for the two credits...

Because of this, I am two credits short of graduatin in the spring and have until July 20th to fix the problem or else I will have to reapply for graduation in the fall. That means say goodbye to grad school in the fall. Only complicating the problem is the fact that the teacher said we couldn't resolve the situation without a face to face meeting. Because I'll be in Europe, the earliest date that we will be able to meet will be August 14th...well beyond the deadline. Not exactly the situation I expected to find myself in at this point. Surpringly I'm not too worried. Whatever is meant to be will fall into place. Hopefully I can work things out, but until then I'm going to keep enjoying Africa.

In other news, I was mugged in downtown Cape Town on Friday! It was about 6:00 at night and I was walking to catch a movie with one of Katie's roommates. Suddenly two guys stopped Bonnie and I and said something like, "Hey- we just got out of jail a week ago for murder. We know that you have money on you. We don't want to have to force you to give it to us, so just hand over whatever you have." Inside I was kind of laughing to myself...but I gave him all I had- 7 rand (about 1 American dollar). I think they were both pretty happy with the loot that they managed to score.

Yesterday, Katie, Bonnie, and I took a little road trip up the coast on the garden route to Wilderness National Park. It couldn't have been anymore beautiful. For about 10 American dollars each we stayed at a swank lodge
Cape TownCape TownCape Town

This little pup was attacking me on the streets of Cape Town...so I got his picture.
right on the Inidan Ocean. Dinner was more of the same. For less than 10 American dollars I had two glasses of wine, a salad, and a burger and fries. What a deal!

One of the highlights of the trip was when we stumbled upon hundreds of snails feasting on a dead jellyfish on the shore. It was funny watching the little critters because every couple minutes or so the surf would come rushing in, knocking all of the snails off of the jellyfish and then moving the jellyfish up or down the beach. Once the surf receded, the hundreds of snails would all race to the new spot of the jellyfish. We probably watched the snails chase the jellyfish up and down the beach for a good half hour. Today, we kayaked up a river for about an hour, and then hiked for another 45 minutes until we came to two awesome waterfalls. What a good trip.

Although things have not been the best (i.e. failing to graduate from college and being mugged) the snails helped put everything in perspective. At least I don't have to chase a dead jellyfish up and down the beach for meals!
Cape TownCape TownCape Town

Atop Table Mountain. Notice the socks and sandals combo...I got ridiculed for that one.
It's past 5 o'clock in the morning...I should probably go to bed now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Adventure to WildernessAdventure to Wilderness
Adventure to Wilderness

Driving on the left side of the road...look right left right
Adventure to WildernessAdventure to Wilderness
Adventure to Wilderness

We stayed right on this beach...ridiculous.
Wilderness AdventureWilderness Adventure
Wilderness Adventure

Feasting on a dead jellyfish!
Wilderness AdventureWilderness Adventure
Wilderness Adventure

Wilderness beach at about 12:00 at night...


25th June 2007

good to hear from you
Great pics!!! Looks like you are have a great time. Sorry to hear you got mugged for ONE dollar. If there is anything I can do to help with your paper, like call your professor, get a rewritten paper and give it to him, or even set up a webcam face to face interview. Just tell me and we will work it out. All you have to do is call or e-mail. 425-951-8241, Raphael.Saler@woodinvillelumber.com Keep your chin up. And keep the pictures coming THERE GREAT!!!!!!
26th June 2007

I'm so jealous (minus the mugging and grade fiasco). I just got home from work BUT, I'm off to play some intense soccer.
26th June 2007

wow!
I wish I could have seen those critters with you! you know we would have been watching them for hours!
30th June 2007

Are you kidding me?
Obviously your professor does not know your uncle craig. We'll just have the incompetent idiot fired! Sounds like you are having a great time. Give our love to Kato and you two stay safe and sucka free. sp

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb