Cape Town - The Final Farewell


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 15th 2007
Published: June 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cape Town - The Final Farewell

 Africa » South Africa » Cape Town By NJWS
June 15th 2007
Neil Sargent
Thursday 28th June - almost nine months to the day since I left home on my adventures and I’m packing up ready to return home.

I’m struggling to put down in words what the past four months in Cape Town has meant to me.

It’s been an incredible journey and one which I am truly grateful to have had. It hasn’t always been easy - life in Cape Town can be tough but at the same time it is a truly wonderful, magical place - for me, a genuine home away from home and for that I can’t thank my friends here enough.

We’ve had some good times and we’ve had some bloody brilliant times but at the same time you have all been there for me when things were proving tough - a sure sign of a genuine friendship.

Nick, Jeremy, Kirsty, Sit, Astrid, Kate, Anna, Erica, Caryn, Jaqui, Didi, Andrew, Chris, Dalli, Zackie - you know who you are…Thank You!

So now that my Oscar acceptance speech is over, I have some packing to do.

Those of you at home….See you
Cape TownCape TownCape Town

en route to Robben Island
Saturday!

xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Robben IslandRobben Island
Robben Island

Nelson Mandela's former cell
Kirsty and NickKirsty and Nick
Kirsty and Nick

Kirsty's Birthday @ SOHO Cafe
Doron and NeilDoron and Neil
Doron and Neil

Kirsty\'s Birthday @ SOHO Cafe
Astrid and NickAstrid and Nick
Astrid and Nick

Kirsty's Birthday @ SOHO Cafe
Astrid, Nick, Doron and NeilAstrid, Nick, Doron and Neil
Astrid, Nick, Doron and Neil

Kirsty's Birthday @ SOHO Cafe
Astrid, Kate, Sit and KirstyAstrid, Kate, Sit and Kirsty
Astrid, Kate, Sit and Kirsty

Kirsty's Birthday @ Waiting Room, The
Kirsty and NeilKirsty and Neil
Kirsty and Neil

Kirsty's Birthday @ Waiting Room, The
Nick and KirstyNick and Kirsty
Nick and Kirsty

@ Waiting Room, The
SeapointSeapoint
Seapoint

My favourite place to go for long walks and runs.
The V&A WaterfrontThe V&A Waterfront
The V&A Waterfront

...many a happy time spent down here
Jeremy, Neil and NickJeremy, Neil and Nick
Jeremy, Neil and Nick

My farewell drinks
Jaqui, Didi and NeilJaqui, Didi and Neil
Jaqui, Didi and Neil

My farewell drinks
Anna, Neil and EricaAnna, Neil and Erica
Anna, Neil and Erica

My farewell drinks


15th June 2007

mum
Relieved to see you looking so well -was concerned I wouldn't recognise you at the airport! South Africa is now on my list of "must see" places - you've marketed it well. See you soon Much love
28th June 2007

Told you so!!
Pathetic I know but the tears are trickling down my face as I look at the photos. How I love that country.... Delighted to see you look so well and happy despite the odd blip on the way. What a fantastic journey ( in every sense of the word) you've had. Can't wait to hear all about in a few weeks. Safe journey. Speak soon.xxxxx
28th June 2007

Coming home
Hey there! Photos once again looking amazing. Have a safe trip back and we will have to catch up when you return. Not sure Aberdeen is quite as exotic as the places you have been though! x
28th June 2007

What a trip!
Hey Neil, at work and just spent the last ten mins looking through all your blogs again - what an amazing trip you've had! Safe journey home and when you get a spare momento let me know for a catch up beverage!

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb