2 Weeks Until Kilimanjaro!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
This is just a quick little update for all of you. Brad and I have about 2 weeks until we leave to climb kilimanjaro and we're super pumped.

We were fortunate enough to hook up with an mountaineering outfitters in Seattle that has agreed to donate some of the more specific gear to us since we're climbing for charity, so thats awesome and will save us some money. Otherwise,we're gathering all of our stuff together, training our butts off, and trying to convince ourselves we'll definitely make it to the top.

Please try to check out the website if you haven't yet. www.masakhane.org/centennialtrek.htm and think about donating! You can send me a pledge form by email, or direct deposit or even a check. If you're interested in sending a check, shoot me an email and I'll let you know how. All of the money is going to help kids here who truly deserve it, and I can't even begin to tell all of you how excited the organization is to have us doing this. Also, a thank you to the South Bend Rotary Club is most needed, as they've just donated an incredible 500$ to the charity. That much money will pay for an entire year at technikon here in SA!

Life here has been busy. School is a bit hectic, and I've been at ICARE, the organization for Streetchildren 3 times a week. Add to that the Rotary meetings we've been attending to promote our hike, and i've spent much of the past 3 weeks running around.

Adam arrived on the 27th, and we've had an awesome time thus far. Hes gotten to see a bit of durban and meet some of my friends and is now off traveling while I do more schoolwork. Such is life, but I have to say, I'm quite jealous of his adventures. We're going hiking in the Berg next week, so I'm sure I'll have some good pictures to post from that.


I think thats about it, I hope all is going well for all of you back in the States. Shoot me an email if you ever have time, I'd love to hear how everyone is doing.
Much love,
Lauren


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb