Big Announcement!!!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

BIG ANNOUNCEMENT!

Well a few of you have already been made aware of this exciting opportunity, but for everyone who is not an immediate family member thereby stipulating advanced knowledge of all my every move, on September 18th I will be flying to Tanzania to CLIMB MT KILIMANJARO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

To say I’m excited about this would be perhaps to most catastrophic understatement in the world, because I am ridiculously ridiculously excited. I can’t even imagine what I’m in for, but I’m sure it will be a wicked good time. For those worried about safety, I am going through a tour company that comes highly recommended, Wild Frontiers and they’ve got the whole health/altitude deal covered. I feel very comfortable going with them.

It will take me about 6 days to do, 4 up, 2 down. I will wake up at about midnight on the day we summit and we’ll actually reach the summit around daybreak, which means check back in September for some phenomenal pictures ( assuming my camera doesn’t permanently freeze).

I’ve been training a lot, getting back seriously into my running, doing a lot of strength training, and hiking in the Berg, so I feel about as prepared as one can feel when getting ready to tackle a 19,000 ft mountain. ( aka, not all that prepared), but as anyone who knows me even slightly well can attest to, once I get going you’ll have to drag me off that thing to keep me from the top. So I expect to be successful 

Perhaps more importantly than my selfish, overly adventurous, and some might say masochistic reasons for taking this challenge on, I will actually be climbing for charity. Another ambassadorial scholar and I are both climbing for charity, will all the money raising going to support the two groups we’ve chosen. So if you ever let the small hope for a gift from Africa slip into your head, I strongly suggest you check out our website, www.masakhane.org/centennialtrek.htm and think about contributing. Just kidding, I will love and gift you all regardless, but seriously, check it out. And if you don’t check it out or contribute, at least pray for me. Its appreciated.

I will definitely keep all of you updated on this, I can’t believe its only one month away. This is sure to be a highlight of my time here, nevermind of my entire life. Anyone want to join me??!!??

On a less than stellar note, my car was stolen on Wednesday in what I’m pretty sure was a political conspiracy by the national car guard association, because my car guard was fishy. Luckily we have car insurance. Unluckily, we had just done 1500 rand worth of repairs which only the two stupidheads who took Lola will get to appreciate. I am however, alive, which is more than I expected when I couldn’t find her in the parking lot and thought I was going insane. So check back soon to find out the details of Lola 2. Or to get my address to ship that spare car you’ve been meaning to get rid of for a while to me.
Miss and Love you All!!!
Lauren

Advertisement



17th August 2006

wow!
so exciting! can't wait to hear about it after... xoxoxoxo

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb