Hartbeespoort Snake & Animal Park


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Magaliesberg
March 17th 2012
Published: September 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sitting at home on a saturday is never a fun thing to do when there is so much there is to discover. Ok guys im not a person to sit around so i decide to convince my parents that we take a drive to Harteespoort dam. so with everyone agreeing we decide to hit the road. GPS tells us its only under an hour.

Driving there is an adventure on its own, breath taking views to the left & to the right, I almost thought my head would fall off my head. There is so much to see. So finally we arrive at a place where they call Hartbeespoort Snake & Animal Park. Im not an animal fan but seeing so many animals in this park was worth paying money for.

As i enter im invited by the smell of poop, but atleast its only animal poop. I start looking into a glass room with tree branches & nothing catches my eye, untill i look closer with my head almost touching the glass. As my eyes wonder & wonder, untill I froze & i also think my blood stopped flowing.........the biggest snake with a body almost twice my size, its only a phython, one of the guys said. What do you mean its only a phyton, a snake is a snake.

Well that was a blood rushing entrance from my part, but as we continued the tour i started to feel at ease since all the animals were kept in cages.......obviously, otherwise we would be paying to get eaten. Wow so many animals from little creatures whom i dont know how to pronounce, to the king of the jungle himself. Leopards, cheetahs, jaguars & wow a white tiger. Now that is an animal i wouldn't mind keeping as a pet. As long as he gets fed by someone else & someone else takes care of him, i would be the onlooker. Chimpanzees, gorrilaz & not forgetting a little show by seals, now those guys are clever.

So after touring the entire park we decide to take a boat rise on the dam itself. Now that was magical, the view from the boat is to die for. Not to mention the houses built on the river banks. I remember saying to myself how wonderful it would be to own one of those houses. well after the boat ride it was time to say goodbye to my new found animal friends & head back home, but the memories will last forever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb