Story of Contrast


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
June 24th 2005
Published: September 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have made it to Johannesburg, South Africa; it was almost like arriving back in the United States. Suddenly, I am thrust back into traffic, Mc Donald’s, furniture stores and strip malls. I feel like I have left Africa and the transition is abrupt.

For those that have only traveled to South Africa it is possible to be here and not truly see what the majority of what Africa is really like. This is a country of progress, High Speed Internet, Mercedes and TV commercials just like at home. Now don’t get me wrong, the poor here are as desperate as any in the world, but what South Africa has that the other countries that I have visited don’t, is opportunity.

People here are have more opportunties then other nations in Africa, similar to the US. The people have an advantage of vast resources. What I found in the other nations, opportunity is not a common gift, it is a gift given to few and denied to many. It is a distance dream, when the reality is survival, that is all there is time and energy for. I know that I have never appreciated the opportunities I
Lucky and his house...Lucky and his house...Lucky and his house...

He was so proud to let me tour his home. In Africa the entire family lives together, so in his home there are 9.
have had over my life and wasted many and finally, I understand what a precious gifts they have been.

I toured Johannesburg and Soweto today, and it is very possible to drive around this city and never know you are in Africa. It’s like any western city with it’s excess of goods and services. There were diamond brokers that sat next to me in the hotel lobby, (they must have pulled out 2 million dollars worth of diamonds placed on a velvet tray while I sat there), to the Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurants,and ATM’s on every corner. I am sure that any of us that have enough money could move here and never miss a thing. The city has everything to offer.

According to the people here the crime is over blown around the world, but when you drive through the neighbors of all classes, everyone has a high fences around their home. Security they say comes from the days of Apartheid and the wounds of distrust remain. The wealthy neighborhoods are grand and lavish like any we would find in the US, Mercedes, Lexus’ and BMW’s cruise the streets like the mini buses in Ethiopia. People are in tailored clothes, gold watches and diamond rings, in the area near my hotel.

Nelson Mandela Square is where my hotel is and just like something we would do in the states, it’s a shopping mall. A large shopping mall with all the accesses that we all like to acquire. Apple Computers stores, one-hour glasses shop, giant cinemas, book stores with coffee shops and a whole level of banks that support all this shopping. This marbled floored mall is one of the largest, I have seen in my life. I am not sure if that is really true or did I have culture shock from not seeing anything like this in the other 4 countries in Africa. As one of my new South Africa friends put it, we are 1st world on a 3rd world continent. But that is not all that Jo-burg has to offer, it has its other side if you care to see it.

The trip to Soweto was just as eye opening. Soweto is where the majority of blacks in this city live. It is home to almost 2.5 million people. The interesting part of Soweto like most cities is it too, has it’s levels of economic classes, from the wealthy with large houses, to the squatter camps with no running water or electric. Most live in what is called a middle class house, but by US standards this would be a very low-income dwelling. The difference seems to be that people's homes that are middle class are built with cement blocks and are much bigger, then a tin squatter home.

When I toured the drivers home,he was so proud to showi t to me. I was struck that they still use an outhouse and some of the rooms were the sizes of a typical walk in closet. We take much for granted in our homes. I smiled to myself as I toured his house. How many things we as Americans have; closets full of clothes that we will never wear, basements and garages full of stuff that we will never use, and multiple cars in the driveway. We value things, we hoard by some standards, and I like many of you buy clothes every season, shoes at a moment’s notice and things to place here and there for my home. We like to buy the latest electronic gadget and toss away
The main road into the campThe main road into the campThe main road into the camp

Note the porta-potties along the road and where the oranges are hanging is a small quick market. Remember there is not electric in this camp.
the old one. We have TV’s, DVD’s and phones in every room and at least one computer with the Internet in our homes, also.

I walked around this “middle class” home and I thought how much excess, I have. But it is our way, we feel we need all these things. Our children must have so many pairs of shoes, pants and toys. We are driven to buy more and more, but the saddest part is that, we truly don’t appreciate it. We are always looking to “upgrade”.

So going through a “middle class” home, I saw what the real necessities of life are. Food, shelter, basic clothing, a place to rest, a place to congregate and place to bath is all we really need. Is life easier and better with all of our trappings, of course, does this mean that I will get rid of all my excess things when I go home, of cause not. But maybe just maybe when I walk in Target and drop those unnecessary things into the cart, I will think about all those who basic needs are not covered Maybe I will think harder about buying that extra pair of
The Barber ShopThe Barber ShopThe Barber Shop

They have electric here to use their clippers. There were rows of this shops along this road, just like this one.
jeans which I don’t really need and think that could provide 4 years worth of schooling for a child in Zambia. I hope I will anyway.
I learned today that, there is even a level to the Squatter camps. Some are tin houses with electric that the government has provided. Each house has a small dirt area that is their yard. Then there are the camps, where each house is crowded together. There are no modern convenience's of electricity or sewage systems. In these camps all cooking is done outside and there are porta -potties for the toilets. I think I saw 6-8 toilets for a camp with maybe 500 people. The small tin houses have tin roofs that sometimes are held down, by rocks and boards, to prevent the elements from taking off the roof. They sit on the red soil of the earth. When it rains the red dirt turns to red mud that makes it difficult.

This is how people raise their children less then a half hours drive from the diamond brokers that sat next to me in my very plush hotel. This is how people live less then a half hours drive, from the vast wealth this country has the keys too. South Africa is a story of contrast, between the majority and the minority. I see races of all colors that have done well here, the malls are busy with every ethnic group imaginable, so opportunity has expanded here for many in the last 15 years. But, still there are so many left behind. Has their life changed that much? I am not sure; my sincere hope is, it gets better every day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Clouds The Clouds
The Clouds

It is winter here, the air is cool and the clouds seem like you can touch them.
Story of ContrastStory of Contrast
Story of Contrast

Another Barber Shop!


25th June 2005

HAPPY BIRTHDAY KIM!!!!!!!
Well I still haven't figured out the time difference, but I think that it is officially your birthday (26th). I remember well, since I was there. Who would of dreamed that you would celebrate your birthday in South Africa. Your Dad and I are just beaming about all that you have accomplished on this journey. We know that God has kept watch over you and give thanks and praise daily for your continued safe journey. Your journals and photographs have inspired many and this is not a surprise. You given of yourself to others, unselfishly, your entire life. Kim you and your family are our "Special Blessing". Happy Birthday! Love, Mom and Dad
25th June 2005

girl u r Bless!
kim I hope you are doing well take your medicine!and drink plenty of water and if you need some resources call daddy at Za place! I see you working towards your next adventure love you always.fay
26th June 2005

Great pics, etc.!
Just came across your blog on the web. I haven't been back to South Africa since 2001, but Joburg is my kind of city and I hope you're enjoying it. Great cityscape pics too (Joburg, Harare, etc.).
26th June 2005

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
Hi Kim! What a great place to be celebrating and I hope you get a chance to do so :-) Still reading and enjoying your commentary and photos! ~ Lynne
26th June 2005

Happy Birthday!!!
And what a birthday it is! This is one that will go down in history. You should be proud to shout your age from the rooftop. What stories you will have to share with your children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren... I hope you are relaxing and enjoying your day. Have a safe journey home.
3rd August 2005

Hi Kim
Hi Kim. My name is John, I live in Johannesburg. I read your "story" with great interest because it seems that so many foreigners, and particularly American tourists seem to think that South Africa doesn't have great cities, and that we are all 3rd world. I hope you enjoyed your stay here and that you have great memories and stories to tell your fellow Americans. As you saw for yourself and comment on in this article, South Africa is a story of contrasts, and the government has identified that one of the oportunities to raise the level of employment for all is in the tourism industry, so please tell all your friends to come over! Not sure if you visited Cape Town or the Kruger National park? Cape Town is one of the most scenic and beautiful coastal towns in the world (also on of the 5 (I think its 5) botanical hot spots of the world), and Kruger Park is a national wild life park that is so big, Israel could easily fit into it! From the other comments, I gather that it was your birthday and you celebrated in Africa. What an experience that must have been hey? Thank you for coming to Africa, and South Africa (Johannesburg). I can't wait to go and see America soon! Regards John softsmart@anazi.co.za
20th December 2005

I am so glad!
Wow You put your trip into great words! I am an South African too~ Sometimes its so hard, coz the world knows nothing about South Africa! And the times they know something, Its something that happend a long time ago.. So thank you very much for telling your story! Take care~

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb