Bloemfontein on Fumes


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Bloemfontein
February 27th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fashion or FunctionFashion or FunctionFashion or Function

Somehow I don't think Bon Bon really wants his new found pet rock
Today we ride from the Cavern to Bloemfontein.

Ok, I might have compared the regiment activity schedule of this resort to that of a penitentiary earlier but I’m really digging living in a building with a thatch roof. Having stayed earlier in one at Addo, I still can’t figure out how they put one together - yet.

I was supposed to ride with Peter T this morning. We had discussed this earlier last night. As I’m waiting for Peter to walk by the reception parking lot, I hear the roar of Terry’s Harley down by the gate and I realize that they’ve already left. Bastard!

Instead I rode with Peter C, Phebe & Patrick, Bob, Chris & Bruno and Fionnuala & Norm.

I’m not sure exactly what route we took as I’m blindly following along and taking in the countryside. The advantage of riding in groups is that it takes less effort to ride and you can enjoy the experience.

We rode through Golden Gate Highland Park, stopped in a pretty town for cappuccinos and I almost ran out of gas 20km from Bloemfontein. Maybe next time I should pay more attention and not follow blindly!

We come across the group I was supposed to ride with this morning and noticed Bon Bon is missing a pannier bag. Apparently he dropped the bike at slow speed on gravel and peeled off the bag. It was so badly damaged he left it at the side of the road. Another unusual feature on Bon Bon’s bike is the rock imbedded in the fairing. I really didn’t get a good explanation on how that happened but it’s wedged in so tight mechanic Dave couldn’t pull it out and mumbled something about it’s now structurally part of the bike.

It’s getting hot again (high thirties) and the group can’t wait to get to the pool in the hotel. Fortunately it’s a short day of riding in this heat.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb