The Cavern


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Drakensberg
February 25th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Umhlanga-Cavern

Ride from the City Lodge Umhlanga Ridge to The Caverns

DrakensburgDrakensburgDrakensburg

I'm not sure what it's called so I'm guessing here. Apparently there's cave paintings in these hills.
Today we ride from Umhlanga to the Cavern.

I’m a little weary before I start riding today because of what happen to Otto. I decide to exercise my demons and ride on my own but on the same route as everyone.

We follow the coast to Stranger then to Kranskop and Greytown. Murray, Ellen and Dave catch up to me and stop in Stranger to gas. I continue on because there’s only one road to Kranskop. When the group catches up again, Dave is irritated that we’re not sticking together.

From Greytown we proceed to Mooiirrvier after a detour around a dirt road. We finally arrive at the Cavern, Drakensberg Holiday Resort.

It’s a hot day to be riding! We left the humidity of Durban and now we’re into intense dry heat high thirties. Believe it or not, this is preferable for me (the only person riding in leathers)! I pouring water down my back, into the shoulder vents on my riding suit and soaking my helmet to cool down. This only works when riding at speeds so I do what have to. :-)

We arrive too late for the lunch buffet but manage to order
Damn!Damn!Damn!

It's the size of a hummingbird! I hope it doesn't bite.
some snacks. When I check in I’m handed an information brochure (ie. rule book) on when meals are served, when activities will commence… What a minute (guard at the gate, electric fence perimeter, regimented meals, guard dogs, prohibited area) this is a resort and not a penitentiary?

After I check in there is a huge fly in front of my door. It’s the same size as hummingbirds back home. I have to remember to ask Frank during dinner about poisonous snakes and insects in Africa.

26Feb2007

Today is a rest day at the Cavern, Drakensberg Holiday Resort.

A group of us go for a hike up to the Camel Back in behind the resort this morning. The pictures say it all.

Basically I flaked out today. It takes effort to ride safely and with everyone gravitating to early starts (8:00am!) I’m feeling it.

Peter and I have been ferrying wines purchased at Allez Bleue and decide to share them with everyone this evening. South African wines are excellent and inexpensive. I’m going to miss trying out all the new wines - have to look for some when I get home.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Crabs at 3000 ft?Crabs at 3000 ft?
Crabs at 3000 ft?

Yep, came across a crab near a stream on our hike this morning
Camel BackCamel Back
Camel Back

Our destination for the morning hike.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 59; dbt: 0.084s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb