Sardine Run...it's my second run...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port St Johns
July 2nd 2022
Published: July 30th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Here we are, the famous moment of the year when a small spot not that far away from home become the dream of most sea lovers around the world. I name the Sardine Run. Each year, starting in April, millions of sardines migrate from the Cape to above Durban in transhumance long trip lasting few months. There are millions of sardines...and the predators are there too for the feast. So bryde whales, bronzewhalers sharks, commun dolphins and bottlenose dolphins...and birds, lot of birds will be encounter around the Indian Ocean Coast of South Africa. The big event is actually happening on the Transkai coast...running mainly from Coffee Bay all the way to Port St Johns from late June till mid July. At the same exact time, we have also the humpback whales migrating from Antarctica all the way to Madagascar waters to give birth. Right in front of home, we do have a whale highway running from June all the way to October. I actually spotted my first one yesterday morning 10 meters underwater while diving Protea Banks.



So for the Sardine Run, I go with my local dive center, I name Aquaplanet. We are basing ourselves right in the middle between Coffee Bay and Port St Johns. By sea, it would be a straight line of 170kms from my garden...by road, it's way above 400kms. I took 6 hours 45 to come down, and only 5 hours and a half driving back home. This is clearly not the easiest of safest drive you have seen. Should be done only in day time, but with some seriously gorgeous hilly landscapes.



This year, I'm staying 4 nights and 3 days on the water...this is of the 3 weeks Aquaplanet is going down there. We are staying in a backpacker place. I get my own little rondavel, so I do get a good sleep. Food last year was amazing, the couple running the place this year has not idea what is decent food. Good news, there is a new plan for next year!



Each day, we launch just before 8am for a full day of 7 hours on the ocean per day. This year too, I'm solid lucky with the weather. Full blue sky and low winds...22 degrees on the water for most of the day...simply gorgeous!



I didn't had the chance to jump in on scuba this year. We had action, but it was way more scattered than last year. Still, some good actions...pack action...you'll just need to have a look at the pictures.



More humpback whales too. They are not interested by the sardines as they are only feeding on krills. This is in opposition to the leaner bryde/brutus whale. And yes, that moment when two of them decided to give us a show for 30 minutes with double breaching is something pretty special.



As a bonus, I've just posted at the end of the pictures 3 of the pics I had yesterday of the whales passing us. This is pretty rare on scuba. I normally see this 2-3 times per seasons...it's doesn't last long...a whale on her road is basically bumping into us while we are diving...but trust me, each and every time, this moment is truly special. Even more special is the fact that this is happening right in my garden. We live on the beach, the dive center is across the street from our flat...yes, home is paradise!



Next entry...I'm actually not sure what will come first next, kind of funny not to be sure how August is going to happen...but September is already filed with adventures to come...and it's going to be a vert special 2022 year!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb