Happy Birthday Delano!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
August 10th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So today we took another day off! There were a bunch of people who wanted to go bungee jumping this week so away we went. I didn't jump again because I didn't have enough money, otherwise I would have went off backwards like they told me to. Instead I chilled in the cliffhanger's pub with Delano and Gee. Gee was too scared to jump and Delano had to drive us, and on his birthday no less! So to make it better, I bought him a nice birthday breakfast 😊

I can see why Delano likes bringing us to bungee so much, they play the jumps on a big screen in the pub so you can watch them. Kathy was the first one to jump, but she was terrified and they actually had to push her which was hysterical. We could hear her screaming from inside. We then watched Sophie jump and she did not do it correctly, it looked as if she did a cannonball so that was funny too. It was a good start to the day. Most of the other jumps were okay, just slightly funny, one girl did jump feet first instead of head first, so her body flipped like crazy. Then there was this one girl that flipped too quickly and I thought she was going to hit her head on the cement! We all gasped while watching her, but it was all fine.

After bungee was over, we drove to an elephant sanctuary where I got to walk with an elephant! There were a bunch of us and I was one of the last people but it was so cool! You stand in front of them and put your palm out and they hold it with their trunk, so basically your hand is half in their trunk half out. It felt really funny and their trunks are so heavy! The guy said they weigh about 130 kilos or 260 lbs roundabout. Everyone had a chance to walk them and we all watched them do some tricks too. One blew at us, and one shook. It was so adorable, she looked like Dumbo! I also got to feed them some pellets, and apples. Lastly we got to touch their trunks, tummies, "African bums", tails and feet. They have really rough skin, but its a lot softer than I expected. They also have really funny hair. Theres like one hair every inch or so. Some people then went on to ride them, but I didn't have enough money, so all of the non riders went and had a lesson on the elephants. They get 6-7 sets of teeth in their life, and when the last set wears down, they starve to death. When an elephant gives birth, it only takes 20 seconds! I bet a lot of the moms reading this are pretty jealous! If it takes 45 seconds, the elephant is having extreme difficulties and the fetus is in serious danger of dying. It was pretty awesome to learn so much about the elephants, because I didn't really know anything. They are just so amazing and gorgeous!

Next, we went to the birds of Eden, which was pretty cool, but I mean they are birds. It is the largest dome bird sanctuary in the world which was cool, and you really couldn't tell you were even in an enclosure. We had a tour guide who was able to tell us all about the different birds, what they were, their name if they had one and she got one to do some pretty cool tricks. Alot of them had some really pretty colors to them, but they didn't really do much and if you got too close they flew away. I guess you could say I'm not really a bird person. She did mention that people try to steal them from the sanctuary though which is just ridiculous!

After birds we went over to the monkeys which was right next to it and had some lunch. I was gunna have calamari and fries but their fryer was broken so I had a burger and salad instead. After that we went on one a tour of all the monkeys. That was pretty freakin awesome! They were the small monkeys but watching them jump from tree to tree was so cool. They're so fast! There were capuchin monkeys, which a few of us made the reference to friends. There were nine other species including the gibbon, lemur, and lots of others I didn't know the name of. They were cool none the less. We went at feeding time so they were all eating apples and oranges. No bananas though, how lame! We saw the "head monkey", his face looked all squished it was pretty funny, less funny than one of the monkeys though because it looked like it had clown make-up on. I think that one was my favorite because it made me laugh so hard.

Once that was over we made our way home, it was a two and half hour drive and we made it back by like 7. I was gunna go crash because we woke up so early but I was told that we had to go down to the restaurant because Katrina had made Delano a cake. So we all piled into the van, and Delano was like you are all crazy, because he had no idea what was going on. It was delicious! It was like an ice cream cake with actual cake as well. She said she made it up as she went along but man was it good. We didn't have any birthday candles so Tams lit a bunch of tea lights and but the cake in the middle. He had no idea and once he walked in we all started singing and he was just shaking his head. It was kinda funny. I still felt bad that he spent most of his birthday with us, and chilling in the car because he couldn't come into the sanctuaries, but at least it was better than working all day.

Once cake was finished, I called it a day and curled up and went to sleep. yay!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb