I moved four tons of chicken....twice!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port Elizabeth
August 11th 2012
Published: August 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So today I woke up like any other day but I wasn't feeling well so I actually really wanted to sleep and not get up. But unfortunately, that is not an option, so instead I trudged on down to the restuarant. Today was hyena day, so I let the newer people walk them since I have already done it and as they were walking, I went in and picked up the ribs as someone else picked up poop. Once that was finished, they went on down to servals to clean up their enclosure and I fed the hyenas once they got back.

The lions were fed an ostrich last night and there were feathers everywhere! So I asked the lion group if they needed any help picking everything up, but they said they were good, so I went on up to the restaurant. We had eggs and toast for breakfast and I got some hot water to try to destuff my nose a little. Once I sat down with my hot water though, Delano said anyone who wants to feed the big ones go on down to the workshop. You can't say no to that so I left my water and went on down to the workshop. On the way down we passed a giraffe who is apparently names Laura and she was hand reared to shes really nice and will come up to you and not kick you, which is nice. So all 12 of us piled into the back of the pick up (big surprise there) and we went to go pick up the food, which was a dead horse. It had already been quartered and everything but we have fed them a nonquartered horse before. Anyway, we then had to load the horse into the back of the pick up, and let me tell you, we got really close to the other volunteers because none of us wanted to touch the meat. It was stupid for us to do that anyway because we we got out, we all had to step on it anyway. So we fed four lions, Cliff, Preston, Max, and Riley. Cliff is the only white one of the group, so he looked the most bloody of everyone. It was weird because they all went to the entrails first, but I guess because its easy meat and theres no skin on it or anything.

While we were at the big cats we went and took the big red ball from Cliff etc and gave it to Ofir and Carrie, two lionesses. It was so funny when we tossed it in because they gave us the stinky face because of all the different scents. The stinky face is basically when they pull their cheeks up and stick out their tongue because they smell through the back part of the mouth. Then they started playing with it and it was so adorable! Its so amazing to she something that should be so strong and magestic all the time be like a little one and be excited over the ball and be so vulnerable. Its an amazing thing to see, and to just see a lion playing with a ball like a dog is pretty funny.

While we were watching them playing with it, someone came over the walkie talkie and said that the guy with the chicken was at the gate. So we went to have him follow us, and as it turns out there were four tons of chicken in that truck in boxes of 10 kilos a piece, that means 400 boxes. All that we had to unload from the truck and pile it up. We had 3 assembly lines going and it still took forever. I was in the truck helping to unload, but my back was hurting from all the bending down, trying to pick it up, so I stood up straight and hit my head. Not the smoothest move ever. Instead I decided it would be good if I left the truck and helped from the ground, so I sent a shorter person on up for me. Once all of the chicken was unloaded, we went back up to the restaurant and did some handlings.

Once those were over, it was finally time for lunch, I was late getting up there and once I sat down, Tams said that Delano needed nine people down at the workshop. Some people went down, but there weren't enough so I said I'd eat fast and go right down. Awful decision. We had to go down there to move the chicken again. But first, we had to empty the good chicken from our freezer in order to make room. We made an assembly line, but it was too long so we had to call up for more volunteers. We were passing box after box of chicken and I felt like it was never ending. Delano kept tossing them to Jake and I was making fun of him because he kept dropping them so he threw one at me, which of course I didn't catch, but hey, I'm not the one who played football, baseball and basketball in school. We had to take a break because Delano's hands were freezing. Most people decided to wash their hands, but I didn't see the point. When Jake came back from washing his hands I patted him on his back and said good job, he didn't like that because my hands had chicken gunk all over them so he went and dipped his hand in chicken blood and I ran away, backwards, so I wasn't going very fast, so he easily caught up. He tried to get it on my face but he missed and got it all over my hair and shirt :P

When that fun time was over, and the freezer was emptied a bit, we were told we could go back to the restaurant since it was technically animal time. I stopped at Kenny on the way up for about 10 minutes, until someone came down and was like they need us again. A total of 5 people moved all four tons of chicken. We were moving them one box at a time so I was like screw this and took two or three boxes. Three boxes was a little much because its over 60 lbs but it was gunna take so long! Once we were almost done, we got a few more volunteers down to help, which was good, because my arms were tired!

Finally done with chicken for the day! Yay! So me and a few others went in with the animals. Lions and tigers! They are so adorable I can't even describe it. Especially since I've gotten to know them and their expressions and everything. The tigers are more playful and they really love tree branches with leaves on them. The lions like to play with this red ball that you just have to throw up and they play with. Not fetch, but still really cute. The only time they let you near the ball is when it's at the electric fence because they know they can't get at it.

I also played this fun game with Joshy. While everyone was playing with the ball, fat baby Jason went and laid down in the corner so I felt bad and went to go pet him. As I was doing that, everyone called me to warn me about Josh stalking me from behind his house. Yara told me that I should just go up to him and clap in his face and he would walk away. Well I tried to do that but he ran away to the other side of his house and stalked me from there, so I walked over to him but he ran to the other side, so I did the same. We did that for like a good five minutes. It was pretty hilarious. I'm going to try to do it again and video tape it.

We left lions because it was time to do food prep. No problems with food prep today, it went nice and smooth. I was on hyenas so I didn't have to help out with the big tiger feeding, we just had to feed ribs to the hyenas. I wasn't hungry again, so I just took the shortcut through the woods to the cabins. I was halfway there and there were like 4 giraffes in my way. Everyone knows I love giraffes, but they are really scary in the wild because they will kick you with their gigantic legs. Luckily they ran away or else I would have had to stop walking. They do not like feeling cornered, so thank goodness I didn't corner them!

At night, a bunch of people went to the communal cabin to watch the notebook. I was going to finish my blog post and go over but I fell asleep too soon! Oops!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb