Six months Seychelles watershed


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
April 20th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Half a year it's been since I arrived on Seychelles shore so I thought it about high time that I reflected seriously upon how life has changed for me rather than pontificate about what animal I'd like to be if I was reincarnated or the paucity of questions in the 2004 edition of Trivial Pursuit.

Without doubt, I miss London a lot less than I thought I would, like hardly at all. I miss friends but that's it. Do I want to be doing the same commute I was doing for near on 12 years? No. Do I care less about X Factor, Cheryl Cole, Jordan or Sienna and Jude's love life? No. Is the i-phone changing my life so much that I can't remember how I ever coped without it? No. Do I miss my local pubs? No. Do I miss the routine that was my life? God no.

True it was time for change (I seem to work on a five year cycle) but I am amazed that I've settled into a place with barely 80,000 people, having always been a city girl. I don't mind as much as I thought I would bumping into people all the time and the grapevine that inevitably results. Having met people from outside the other one's network has been good though and I think our strategy of trying to get away in the holidays to experience life in more than just the one lane (it doesn't have to be fast!) is a sound one. It can feel claustrophobic sometimes and there is routine here too, but when that includes visiting beautiful beaches and the Indian Ocean, it's hard to complain.

I think the thing that gets to me most, is the difficulty in getting around and how this affects our social life. There's no public transport after about 6pm, taxis are expensive (with some drivers not always that sober) and people live in scattered locations around the island. Driving at night is not easy, poor lighting, roadside ditches, drunk and reckless drivers (some people deciding to overtake only when they know that there is oncoming traffic!) and an inability to dip headlights from full beam. Never mind the perilously steep driveways to get to a lot of places (I say all this it's the other one bless who does the driving!)

It's of course luxurious not to have the have the stress or routine of a 9-5 job and I'm busy with this blog, Social Seychelles and dreaming up ideas for employment but doing something that could earn me money would be nice!

So I reckon on the scale of 1 to 10. Life here rates about a 7. Might creep up if I get an interesting job and money!

Would I want to be back in London? Not in a heartbeat.

paradisepromised.wordpress.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb