Discovering my inner geek


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
April 20th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Given my astounding success inserting a break with HTML and what appears to be an emerging inner geek, I can't help but think What If?

What if I'd decided to pursue a career in computing instead?

No, don't choke those of you who know me...there are some positive signs.

Like severe Buffy and Big Bang Theory fandom, liking Chuck who's just Seth from OC*, lovin the original Star Wars trilogy, early success at Pac man and the Rubiks cube, earnest discussions about the meaning of Terminator and Donnie Darko and the fact that often no-one understands what I say (not I fear due to my 'off the scale' intelligence). I also sit for hours on the internet and spend just as much time tinkering with Ning.

It could have been my dream career...except...

I never went near dungeons and dragons.
It took me years to know that HAL was a riff on IBM.
What was the point of Tron?

And I don't even have Windows 7 yet.

This leads me to conclude with Spock-like logic that I'm a wannabee while real geeks, being figures to which I aspire, are way cooler than me. Pigs in space.

For the ranks of the uncool, there's only clear calling. I 'll say it again, I should have become an MP.

paradisepromised.wordpress.com

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb