Langue de la barbarie National Park


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Saint-Louis Region » Saint-Louis
June 6th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On the beachOn the beachOn the beach

At the Langue de la barbarie National Park near St-Louis Senegal
I had my worst mishap of the trip thus far. I went on an ill-fated kayak trip and stupidly did not think to leave important things on dry land, including my camera, money, and passport! Lost my bug-spray and a bottle of “home-made” spring water. Right now I’m letting the camera dry but I fear that because it was salt water it may be toast! Hopefully, at the very least the memory card will still work. Also the Senegal stamp in my passport washed off and two Myfloquin tablets were destroyed. I should be OK on both counts, however, as I have extra Myfloquin and I didn’t need a visa for Senegal anyway.

As far as sinking a Kayak in a African river (Senegal river) goes, this was not too bad an outcome --- no crock/hippo attacks, etc. --- so long as I don’t get some awful disease (like river blindness!). Other than that the camperment (Zebrabar) is very relaxed. I will stay here until Friday. I am going to see the parc nationale demain.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Beach near St-LouisBeach near St-Louis
Beach near St-Louis

Skipping a stone
Beach near St-Louis 2Beach near St-Louis 2
Beach near St-Louis 2

Finding another stone


Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0955s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb