SENEGALESE VILLAGES, TOWNS, CITIES


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
February 16th 2010
Published: February 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Officials in KaymoorOfficials in KaymoorOfficials in Kaymoor

Primary school principal, village chief, parent association principal, college principal, Kate with 10000 Girls
This past week I went to visit several town and villages. Again there are many contrasts. I went with the program 10000 Girls to deliver bags and books for girls. Older girls make bookbags and supplies are put in them. Books are for tutoring sessions for exams students must pass to go from one level of education to another. Comparable to going from elementary school to middle to high school and on. The person I traveled with was Kate, a former Peace Corps volunteer to the area. Since volunteers live in the village, she was adopted where we visited.

There is something different about the people in the village compared to urban populations. Perhaps they are more open and welcoming. They know each other well and there is a feeling of solidarity among them. To reach the village of Kaymoor we were on a highway about an hour, another hour on a pockmarked road, 18 kilometers on a dirt road. Yet here there is TV with cable access and the internet. The educators we met were well-informed, interesting people. Each official made a speech to welcome us and express appreciation for the supplies to students.

Conversations were a little triangulated. Kate and I spoke English to each other, but most others spoke only a few words of English. All the educators could speak French to me, but Kate is mostly fluent in Wolof, where I am totally lost.

When we visited the compound where Kate had lived, many kids ran up to hug, speak, shake hands. One became my friend too. We visited and greeted in order of age or position. They knew we were coming and had prepared lunch. Since the school had also made a meal we ate a little more lightly, but some at each.

On a day trip I went to see Thiès. To get there I spent more time in crowded cars than in the city, but it was worth it. This was an oasis in time and place for me. It was almost unfortunate to go. The city is pleasant, cool, clean, urbane—causing me to feel less than satisfied about being in Kaolack. Now I am looking to understand why I am where I am, and to see if I should try to do something to move. There is a reason for being in Kaolack, and a reason for feeling drawn
New books for girlsNew books for girlsNew books for girls

Kaymoor, Senegal
to Thiès. Gotta find out.

Most recent places on my list are Kaffrine and Malem Hodar. One very touching episode there was about girls who leave school early. They are often pressured to begin traditional women's roles. Some of their families need them for housework or income. Many are given in arranged marriages as early as 12. One former student quit school because her husband-to-be wanted that. Another was discouraged after unsuccessfully repeating a grade 3 times. She is one of the most beautiful young women I have seen. This seemed to be an impossible situation. There are examples of women who are successful as teachers and owners of small businesses, but they are the exceptions. For someone who is not academically inclined or who does not have entrepreneurial abilities and resources, the options are depressingly few. Still, this is a quickly developing society. We live in a world of endless possibilities. Life has much to offer, even when it is difficult to see this for one individual in narrow circumstances.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ThiesThies
Thies

Tree-lined street
School kids in KaffrineSchool kids in Kaffrine
School kids in Kaffrine

I tried to take a picture of a few kids but dozens jumped in


18th February 2010

thanks for sharing Yanick.
19th February 2010

We Are More Alike.........
The blog was informative and interesting; I smiled as I read the caption under the picture of the group of children; I had the same experience every where I went in SA. Thanks for the pictures; they made visualizing unnecessary since you gave me photos. Pray and meditate on Thies, then do what you must for the good of the cause. You are in my prayers; you are well, healthy, prosperous, blessed. and looking good......stay that way!!
20th February 2010

Educate me
I applaud you for your efforts. Keep up the good work. Spirit has a plan for your life and all these adventures are your stepping stones to the fulfillment of the plan. Thanks for the education you provide for me. I feel connected to the places and people you show and talk about. Thanks. Thies look like any city in America. Beautitful. I am presently here in Jamaica with Rev. Sheila and rev. Mary for the licensing of Claudia tomorrow. Continue to be blessed as you find your place in the world. Peace and blessings always, Burnie

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb