MAGAL: PILGRIMAGE & MIRACLES


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
February 9th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

THE MAGAL
Another interesting holiday in Senegal: the Magal. It is an unofficial time off, so things are supposed to be open, but in reality life shuts down thoroughly 3-4 days. This is a commemoration of the religious leader Amadou Bamba. He was exiled for leading a nonviolent struggle against the French in the late 1800s and early 1900s.

The stories of what happened to him are comparable to those about other religious leaders. The French sent him to a remote forest area where he was expected to die of hunger or by attack of wild animals. When he was in the midst of hungry lions, they lay down to sleep next to him. He was imprisoned and put into a furnace, then was seen sitting there drinking tea with the prophet Mohammed. When on a ship, shackled and forbidden to pray, he broke his chains, jumped into the water onto his prayer rug. After he got up there was sand on his forehead.

The French allowed him to return to Senegal, and he founded the most important Islamic brotherhood of Africa south of the Sahara. Many businesses are owned and operated by this group, causing public transportation and many transactions to be unavailable during the annual pilgrimage. The holy city he founded is Touba (meaning "felicity" or "bliss"). It is the 2nd largest in Senegal, but government has almost no authority there. (Similar to the status of Vatican City in Rome). They forbid alcohol, tobacco, games, music, dancing, & such. The schools teach only in classical Arabic. Between 1 and 2 million people go there at this time each year.

Bamba helped convert many Senegalese to Islam, teaching tithing and personal responsibility. One of his sayings is "Work as if you were going to live forever, and pray as if you were going to die tomorrow."

MAGAL SIDE EFFECTS
While I did not go to the holy city for the occasion, I reaped some benefits of the Magal.
For a few days traffic was light. But I could not get a taxi when I needed one. There were so many people out of town that water pressure was much stronger than usual. (I have been told for another holiday coming later in February the crowds will be in Kaolack and the reverse will happen. There are plenty of containers around to store water for any shortages). All those who use the loudspeaker system for the prayers must have left. At 6 AM I thought I had overslept tremendously when they had not startled me awake. (You would think I am used to them after more than 3 months, but almost each morning it is a surprise).


Advertisement



14th February 2010

So Intrigued Am I !
When I reached the end of your mail, I found myself looking for more, so intrigued was I. I have come to know that no matter how much I read, there will always be information of interest to me that I will not find. Thank you for educating me on Amadou Bamba and his influence in Senegal and the religion of Prophet Muhammad. I really do enjoy your blogs and look forward to learning something new each time since that is part of my motivation for the activity of life each day. Keep the information coming and thank you so very much for your transAtlantic messages!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb