Arrived safely in Nigeria


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria » Logos
March 13th 2011
Published: March 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When 6 people need to check your passport before you leave the airport you know you are back in Africa 😊

I came off the plane and felt that hot humidity that just takes your breath away and walked down towards immigration for everyone to view my passport. once through immigration it was time to wait for my bag... this bag is important, it holds not only my clothes but everything I need for my first aid training too.

Ooooh my hotel has just had a power cut - it feels a bit creepy at the moment - ahhh here are the lights

anyhow back to the story

I walked down to the sea of Nigerians to get my bag and a gentleman asked me if I was one of the models for the fashion show! my answer was REALLY ME I dont think so 😊 and then Jane poked her head out and waved saving me from the man who thought I was a model (compliment is noted for being asked though).... we waited and waited and waited - no bags, oh dear I was worried, then Janes bag came and about an hour later mine arrived, it was then time to leave the airport after showing my passport to two more people who wanted our vaccine cards too. Good job I had mine.

Our driver picked us up and we walked for what felt like miles until we arrived at the vehicle, we battled traffic for almost an hour, a police officer stopped the car, I chatted to him to be polite but Jane said ignor him - he is only after money. The driver paid him and we left and drove over a huge bridge which is apparently over a swampy lake, unfortunatly it is dark here now so I couldnt see much of lagos - not yet anyway.

On arrival at the hotel we were shown to our rooms, Jane suggested going for a quick drink which sounded wonderful after our long trip. Jane knocked on my door but I couldnt open it

I WAS LOCKED IN!!! ahhhhh

I had to slide my key under the door so that Jane could let me out, we decided to get my room changed which we did and then went for a drink.

I am now preparing for my first day of first aid training, I believe I will have all morning to prepare too which is good

this blog is short as I have lots to do tonight so good night all xxx

Advertisement



14th March 2011

Lights off eh!!!
Get used to the lights going off, there are nights when it is a like a Disco. They have back up generators (supplied and mantained by Mantrac) at the Hotel so don't worry. Glad to hear you got the Bag!!!!
22nd March 2011

Unique Country - unique people
I am actually having a huge laugh reading your blog. It's not surprising because we are talking about Nigeria. For this particular reason i feel in love with the place. Did you check out any other places apart from Lagos? Are you training Nigerian First aid?. although i haven't visited in about 3 years i still call Nigeria once a month to check up on my friend there. Wonderful people, you will have a wild and exciting time there.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb