More africa sorry not revised


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
March 6th 2010
Published: March 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

March 3 
Day 47
Today we had a 6 hour or so bus day. We drove from ghanzani Botswana to natashia nambibia. The boarder crossings went super smooth. 
When we got to the city we had a few hours to do some errands I did some Internet and s bit of shopping and walked around the beautiful city. It was very nice, clean and westernized. It felt/looked like flordia. 
We didn't have to camp here we stayed at a hostel so we all shared a dorm from the night. We picked up 5 more passangers tonight as well. A 38 year old Brit Simon a Canadian couple late 20s ealry 30s Lindsey and Ryan and then a older couple margerita from Portugal and ruldolph from Germany. I breifly meat them after Kathy had he predepartue meeting. 
After the meeting most of the group came out to dinner to joes steak house. Where they are famous for their wild game dinners. They sold zebra, springbok, oryk, osterage, crocodile and a few others in the antelope family. I wantted kebra but Patrick told me last time he was there he and another driver biggie went head to dad eating the "Game Knuckle" from some antelope I think. It was called the strong man on the menu so I had to get it to try and put it down. Wow was that thing was massive must have been over 1000 grams it was huge. I managed to muscle it all down but just barely. It would have been easier if it wasn't so dry parts of it were very chewy and stringy, it needed more sauce. But it was decent. After dinner a few of the paxs went home while a few of us stayed out to celebrate Suzie's birthday. Which was quite fun although I was feelng a heavy food coma for a while right after eating. 
We stayed at the bar till a bit after midnight then carried it back at the hostel for a bit. Altough when we got back shell realized she had lost her creditcards at the bar so we hoped in a taxi to go find them, luckily they were sittig on the floor right where we we're siting. "We had a nice taxi ride back."
When we got back most people had gone to bed team british were still up nicky, Suzie, and the new guys Simon. They were playing pool. Shell and I hung out with them till around 2 am and we reached our limit bed time. Shell is a really great girl she's so gun outgoing and adventerous. I wish I could spend the year traveling with her. She's a catch for sure.

March 4th
Day 48
Today we woke up bad breaky at the hostel and blew up some ballons for Suzie bday. We had a pretty short drove today to Etosha park. This campsite was very super posh the 4seasons of camping in my eyes. The nicest pool restaurant bar and bungalows yet. There is a cool watering hole just on the other side of the wall, you can sit at and watch animals come by. Most ofhe paxs hung by the pool most of the avo. I went to the watering hole for a bit before the pool, I'm here to see nature and afrca not sit by a pool. I did stop by later though and perfected my gainer/running backflip. After we set up and got camp cooking I did a bit of a work out abs skipping and pushups. Dinne was and Indian curry pretty decent.  After dinner there was a beautiful electric storm we all went crazy taking photos as well as a spectacular moon rise. Then we all went to the wateringhole in hopes of spotig somehing. A few of us who stayed up later saw a rhino come through but that was it. Shell and I got some sweet star shots one nice one sillouted tree with the southern cross. 

March 5th
Day 49 
Today we did a 7 am game drive we got to see he standard giraff, spring bok impala. We did see some lions off in the distance nearby some zebra we thought we were going to see a kill one of them even darted across the bush but nothing. The zebra huddled together and held their ground strong,apparenty when they run and scatter is when they are at risk. On the way back I took apart and tried tightened shells sunnies. 
When we got back I was on cooking team and had to make eggs and toast for everyone. Normally wouldn't be a probelm but in a big pan that is concave ans all the eggs end up in he center make it a bit dificult. We managed though. Then helite wantedto make and israle dish so we had to do some major prep work. She did teach me how to make taziki though so I'm stoked on that. Once we finished the prep I went to the watering hole to write some posties and hopefully see simething cool,just some springbok 
Then I went for a run around the campsite before we'd have to go back and actually cook dinner/lunch. 
Lunch turned out to be a bit later than we were shooting for bit it was tasty. We were tring to push it out quick because we were meant to go on a sunset game drive but we need to be back at camp before dark other wise we get fined I think. Well after we powered down lunch we hopped on for our drive. Again seeing the standard now giraff,spring bok, we did get to see a rhino and an oryx (the animals I ate a couple of nights ago, in the antelope family long straight horns) we did get to see some spring bok krunk too where the bound all fours like a kangaroo or something. We caught a beautiful sunset on the way back to camp Patrick was motoring to make it back in time which we did just barely. 
When we got back a few of us went to the small look out tower to watch the last bigs of daylight fade. Then he girls went for a run. I was the last to leave the tower and the guy up there told me he was the head cheff at the reasauet and there was going to be a preformance by some kids in a few minutes and I should go and watch. So I ran down stairs. The kids sang and danced beautifully. It was very traditional and very good. They seemed so excited and happy. The ozzie girls were runnig by and stopped to watch as well. Leash got the tezchers info because she said she would be very intrested in funding the program. Once they finished their preformance we headed back to our camp site cooked up some left overs and hung out in the kitchen area. Before I whet to bed I hit the waterhole one more time because I heard I missed a herd or elephant. But it was raining on and off so I didn't see anything. 

March 6th
Day 50
Today we had a pretty early wake up.  A few of us grabbed breaky and headed to the wateryole to watxh natures tv ine more time.  Again we didnt see anythig apparently some had seen a few jeckle(small fox) and a small wild cat(basically a wild house cat). After we ate and oacked up we headed for squatimont.  

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb