Athletics


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
February 23rd 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

LibraryLibraryLibrary

This is the library that the kids use. I am actually the librarian...hmmm...somthing funny about that...
Hello, hello!

So last week, I told you about the athletic tournament that I went to but didn't get a chance to upload pics so...here they are! It really was fun and I found out that all of the winners are going to be going to Swakopmund next week for another tournament..so that should be fun!

Here is also a picture of the library where I am the librarian. I find that very funny, although I like to read, I am no way fit to be a librarian. When I got here, my principal asked me to do it, so I said Ok. I soon found out that none of the books are in any order except that the Afrikans are on one side and the English is on the other. So I just have the kids sign the books out and sign them in when they bring them back and put them back where they found it...I can't say it is a real organized way to do things, but it works for now.

This week two of the teachers were out (they just didn't come to work) so that meant that I had to teach every period
About to begin..About to begin..About to begin..

We are in the blue...
without a break...quite exhausting! It's kind of crazy, my principal told me that since all of the teachers are government employees, she can't do anything if they don't come, except report them to the government. Hence absenteeism is a real problem, and I now understand a little more why the teachers don't really care about doing a good job or not.

Oh, and thanks for all the suggestions for games...I tried hangman today and it worked great. Next week, I might try Simon Says or the Coke and Pepsi game...I try to have Fridays to be our Fun Days...fun for them..and it's one day I don't have to teach 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Running...Running...
Running...

i told you they all run barefooted...I can't believe it considering there are these thorn bushes everywhere and the thorns are constantly stuck in my shoes
Me and some of the kidsMe and some of the kids
Me and some of the kids

I am the white one in case you couldn't tell ;)
Long JumpLong Jump
Long Jump

Here is the long jump...
The winnersThe winners
The winners

We actually won for the day which was surprising to me because we kept losing at the track races


23rd February 2007

so happy hangman worked! also red rover red rover? sparkle is a great game for spelling! ... i used to play that with my 4th graders and they were obsessed... i googled classroom games for you... go to this site... www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/lesson/lesson169.shtml - games called silence, whozit whatzit, four corners, chain reaction... all great games for your age range... HAVE FUN! congrats on your big win blue team! xoxo
23rd February 2007

Hi sweetie, your travel blog arrived today (friday) automatically...seems like the website got its act together. So now i can apologize to everyone on your email list for my annoying and repetitive emails with links to your weekly blog. Anyway, luv the pix and your socio-political commentary...(gov employees out of control, discipline and organizational issues, western style rules, etc.). Some things are coming thru very clearly: that your enjoying your work, that you have made many friends, your learners and co-workers appreciate you very much, and that your doing a great job. luv and kisses, papa and mom.
25th February 2007

amazing
jessi, every time i read your blogs i am more and more amazed at what you are doing. you should be so proud of yourself! as far as games... heads up 7-up is a good game to play when you want the kids to be quiet. going on a picnic and taking... a, b, c will help with the english alphabet. hopscotch is always fun! continue to enjoy every moment you are there! can't wait for more. love, rachel
26th February 2007

I definitely think at the next athletic day you need to start a "WE ARE..." chant. That would be awesome!!! As always...another wonderful entry that has left me feeling so proud to be your friend. Keep up the amazing work. xoxoxoxo
1st March 2007

Jess, this is all so interesting...I love it. It was always great to hear about Jackie's trips and see her pictures but her trips were a bit shorter than yours. I am so excited you are a teacher. What a great opportunity for you and for your "learners". They could not have a more caring, sweeter person than you. I am sure they have all just fallen in love with you. This may not have been your original choice in destinations but God always has a plan and you are making a big difference in the lives of many. There and here, your courage to do this and your desire to share it all with us. You are an awsome woman!!! Lots of love, hugs and kisses Laura, Barb, Jackie and I are thinking of you!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb