Birthday and Valentine's Day


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia
February 16th 2007
Published: February 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

AssemblyAssemblyAssembly

Every Monday morning they have Assembly where they pray and read from the bible...very different from our schools. It is really interesting to see a difference when there is no seperation between chruch and state. They pray ALL the time.
Hello!

Well, to start, I want to thank everyone for their warm birthday wishes! It was so nice to read them today!

So, my birthday and Valentine's Day were great. First of all, last week another teacher had told me that I am supposed to bring a cake on my birthday and I didn't believe him considering in the US other people bring food to you or take you out on your birthday. But I have to say, I was wrong. On my birthday, everyone kept asking me if I had cake for them, whoops!! I told them I would bring it next week...

All my learners were very cute and so many of them made me cards for both my birthday and Valentine's. Some of them were really cute, "Ms. Jessica, you're my favorite because you have long hair." Another one made my mouth drop, " Ms. Jessica, Happy Birthday and I love you because you don't beat us." I am not kidding! Needless to say, they were very thoughtful. I decided to have fun with them on my b-day, and taught them another game during PE class, Red Rover (Red Rover, Red Rover, we want so
My Grade 5'sMy Grade 5'sMy Grade 5's

My grade 5's when they are behaving...
and so to come over) and they loved it...anyone have any other fun games they can think of???

So once again, we were training all week for our Zonal competition in athletics. We went to a neighboring town called Karibib to compete today which was really fun. All the kids that qualified went and competed and I was one of the track judges which means I stood at the finish line and decided who was first, second, etc. It was really great! I can't get over how they all run in bare feet...

ok, my connection wasn't that great today, so uploading pics took forever...I'll upload the rest from my b-day at school and of the athletics tournament next week 😉






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My Grade 5'sMy Grade 5's
My Grade 5's

My grade 5's when they are having fun!! (This was on my brithday and it was the first time I brought in my camera...they were very excited!)
Grade 6Grade 6
Grade 6

These are the Grade 6's playing Red Rover


18th February 2007

happy belated b'day/thanx
happy b'day jess. everything sounds so fabulous. not sure if u got my last comment, so sending another. i love reading all your wonderful stories. keep up a incredilbe job that u r doing. of course, they love you who wouldn't!!
18th February 2007

Belated Happy Birthday and other Accounting ideas
Hi Jess, A belated Happy Birthday. I was thinking of both you and Andi on your birthday. I'm glad it was such a memorable day. The class seems great, they are lucky to have your energy to learn from. You know I was thinking about my last note to you and how we decided that teaching and sacreficing (I'm sure I spelled that wrong) might not be for me, however I was wondering how you would feel about scouting out a possible accounting office for me. Who does the tax returns down there? Be honest, good idea? maybe not so good? Anyway, I'm hoping I made you laugh. I'm siting here thinking about your giggle and hoping that I did. Let's keep an open mind and maybe this satelite office idea might work. So proud, I'm glad your part ours, stay safe, love steve
18th February 2007

Amazing!
Hi Wess- Happy Birthday!!! I just caught up on all your entries and you sound amazing! Love the hair,all the stories about the kids and your pictures are the best! Keep them coming. There is nothing harder than discipling and nothing more rewarding than gaining the kids respect in the end. They are so incredibly lucky to have you there. You are changing lives!!! Some fun game ideas: "I Spy" (pic one person and give away clue by clue-it makes them think!), How about Hangman? I'll try to think of more. Everything is great in NYC. Snow and ice everywhere, so enjoy the warm weather! Miss u lots! xoxox, Lisa
18th February 2007

Looks like you are having an amazing time! It's great to read about your travels online. Looks like you made a great decision as far as what program to choose! As far as kids' games go, have you tried duck-duck-goose? May be a bit young, but when I worked at a summercamp, kids of all ages liked it. Or maybe red light/green light? Hmmm.... Anyhow, hope you continue to have an amazing time (as I'm sure you will). Look forward to hearing more about it! Jill P.S. The RTF grid box misses you... Really. Don't you miss it?
18th February 2007

hi from Cherry Hill
Hi Jessi! Happy Birthday(sorry no roses). we love reading your journey.we admire your spirit!You are doing an amaizing job.It is a difficalt time for you,but sounds great.You are an amazing girl.we love you,kiss and hug. We look forwrd to reaing each one.
18th February 2007

Happy Birthday and Happy V'Tine's Day
Of course you get a comment from me. At least you know someone's reading and is interested. Kidding -- I'm sure I'm among the thousands. So you didn't bring a cake........uh, oh. Good thing you made it up to them -- they could have staged a revolution -- The Great Cake Uprising of 2007! Keep on doing what you're doing, which sounds like you're doing it well. And keep these coming -- they're great. Love Judy
19th February 2007

Good job & Happy B'day!
Jessie, Sounds like you're doing great work...keep it up! My sister, Joanie, forwarded your blog to me.... I'm going to try an African trip this June....Victoria Falls, Malawi, maybe Mt Kilimanjero. Looks great! Best regards, Cousin Howard
19th February 2007

:)
Hi Jess - My kids love red light green light. Remember that game? One of my former students went to THON this weekend and they raised over 5 million dollars! I thought that would bring a smile to your face. Hope you are well and I will talk to you soon! Love, Mag
20th February 2007

here's one for you
Jess... I have a game for you.... Coke and Pepsi. You may need to use different "opposites" for the country you are in...but the game works no matter what you use. Remember at the Bar/Bat Mitzvah's they would use the guest of honors name? Glad you enjoyed your birthday and V-day. Looking foward to the next entry. Love and miss you!!!
21st February 2007

happy bday!
happy belated birthday! sorry... but i didn't know how to send you bday wishes until i got your next blog... wow... that grade 5 class seems huge... but they are adorable! if they can read/write english "hangman" is fun and educational... don't know if that politically correct there though? we used to always play simon says and freeze dance... but i taught kindergarten. we also played indian chief (where someone leaves circle, u pick chief, everyone has to follow, and then the one who left has to guess who chief is)... just in case you forgot... good luck!
21st February 2007

Belated Happy B-Day!
Hi Jess, I'm writing you a belated happy b-day! Kieran and I were on vacation and we just got back. I wasn't able to check my email or go on the internet for a week. We went to Las Vegas, but we didn't win big money. One day we went on a helicopter ride into the grand canyon. Kieran threw up in the helicopter.
22nd February 2007

:)
Happy late birthday my love! you are doing such a great job. So proud. I miss you like crazy though!!!! :)
23rd February 2007

Games to Play
1. Beer pong 2. cow tipping 3. ... err... rather llama tipping 4. "Who locked the teacher in the closet?" Otherwise, I'm assuming you already have them working on the Penn State songs ... 'WE ARE ... ' Serious though, it sounds like you're really connecting with many of the kids, and that's great.
23rd February 2007

So I guess dodge ball is out?
Keep on keeping on. I'm loving your narratives, and judging by the responses you've gotten, I'm not the only one. What a great support system you have. And look at all the great suggestions you've been given. Have fun, but don't beat them, OK? L, JF
23rd February 2007

What a way to celebrate!
Hi Jess! We sent you a belated b-day package with some games... you can also try Red Light/Green Light, Freeze Tag, Charades or Pictionary. Things are good back home. Vanessa keeps you and "jessi's kids" in her prayers every night. We miss you tons!
24th February 2007

Well, Jess, you are really doing it. I love how much your learners radiate a happy sparkly demeanor. You must be enjoying this so very much. Keep doing the great work you are doing. THe mutual benefits are unlimited and it reminds us all to follow that little voice inside. I remain so proud to be part of your world. Thanks and a belated happy birthday. I will bake YOU a cake when you return to Ramona. Love, Cheryl

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0742s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb