I've Been Away from Wireless


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
January 12th 2013
Published: January 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello, again, all my friends,



Sorry to have already missed my once a week deadline. I'm toward the end of three weeks of orientation, mostly in Windhoek; but last week we spent in Imungwelume, up north, near the city of Oshakati. We didn't have wireless available, and I have not bought a Netman which lets you do internet through the phone lines, because I am pretty sure my school will have wireless access.

The week in Omungwelume was at a school called Eengedjo where we were doing a practicum. They had put out the word (it was still their summer vacation) that we would be there and I think we probablly had 60 - 80 students from grades 5-11. It was great fun. We worked in pairs or threes to plan and to teach lessons. The first two days my group taught 8-11 graders, and the last two days grades 5-7. When we go to our respective schools, we'll all be teaching different things. I am pretty sure I will be doing 8th and 11th grade English, but won't know for certain until we get there.

Omungwelume is a largish village, and the school is a partial hostel school (about 50% of students live there during the week). The learners who came were so cute and fun and full of intelligence and good humor. They tolerated us well, and we felt like friends when we left. Two of our number will be teaching in the village; a married couple. But they'll be in different schools. Jessie will probably be the librarian, among other things, in her school, so I am envious.

The trip was very interesting. About 8 hours on a bus. Partway up, we crossed what is called the Red Line. It has mostly to do with cattle, but is also a holdover from the colonial days when each ethnic group had its own area. The Owambos are the largest tribal group in Namibia. In their culture, cattle represent wealth, so they don't really market them, and they tend to roam freely (with a herder). In the South they produce cattle for sale and the Southerners do not want them to mix. But there is a huge difference in how people live on one side of the line or the other. So one reason for doing our practicum was to break us in gently. There is much more subsistence living and poverty in the North.

While we were there, Bret's (our field director) girlfriend Angelina invited us to her mother's home for a traditional dinner. I took some pictures and hope to figure out how to upload them. We ate mahangu (millet) made into a thick paste. You took a chunk and rolled it into a ball then dipped it into a chicken stew sort of dish. Really a stewed chicken with lots of juice. It was quite yummy. I've seen that done in movies, I think, so I am pretty sure other cultures eat that way, but what they eat may be different. In showing us over the homestead, they let us all take a turn poundig the millet and, of course, laughed at us. It is a giant sort of pestle, very heavy, and the millet is in a hole in the ground. They pound in the hole. If two are available, they pound in the same hole working in rhythm. It would be really hard work. They do have some machinery for the harvest, but much is done by hand, so they all work very hard. But they were so friendly and welcoming. I really had a good time.

We are back in Windhoek now. We all leave next Thursday for our various posts. If I haven't said yet, I will be at a hostel (boarding) school in Divundu. You can go on the Ministry of Education, Namibia website and see a picture of it. It is called a "Vision" school and is the first, so we are basically the flagship for about six new schools being built around the country. Namibia has a program called "Vision 2030" with very high goals for education in Namibia. They are wisely spending a much larger percentage of their GNP on education than our country or state do. I hope I can live up to this. And I hope I might become the unofficial librarian for this year. Wednesday before we go, we are going to meet with the national librarian. I guess we can order books from the national library to stock our libraries. I don't think we keep them forever, but shall have to find out.

We have a busy schedule for the next few days, but keep your eye on the blog. I'll try to get some pictures posted to go with this letter.

Thanks for the emails. I think if I had got back from the North and not had any emails, I would have burst into tears! I'll post again sooner with pictures from so far.

Wendy

Advertisement



12th January 2013

Hello my Friend.
How great to hear from you thank goodness for the technology we have today. Last weekend went up to the ski house that Simon has with another couple in Madison NH they are renting it till April. All very nice 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms and plenty of room. Simon put Cameron on skis and she went up on the ski lift!!!! Going to watch Mia play indoor soccer this afternoon and then back to Tracy and Chris for the evening. Tomorrow having brunch with Terry and Bob. Bob is doing fine and is in good health. Well we still have plenty on snow but it has turned milder. Look forward to your next blog. LOL Colin & Jill xoxo
12th January 2013

The Starry Night Sky
It must be a treat to behold the southern skies at night. Say hi to the Magellans for us!
13th January 2013

Wendy the BEAUTIFUL!
So interesting to read your blog! You are so adventurous! Do you know what your address will be so I can send you a New Year's card? Have more fun!
14th January 2013

What an adventure
Following your blog with interest. Only part of Africa I have visited is Egypt. It is a whole new world.
15th January 2013

Do you know if the photos just show up, or do they need to be clicked for someplace? Enjoy the adventure for all of us!
16th January 2013

Thinking of You
I hope you got my previous message. I am really enjoying your posts and thinking of you often. What an amazing experience -- I did look at the Namibia Department of Education website and can see how much they are focusing on the education of their children. And you get to be part of that! Take good care, and I'll keep checking to see how you are doing! Kathryn
18th January 2013

Way to go Wendy!
Sounds like your adventure is already going well! Enjoy and have fun! Looking forward to more tales as you have time! Take care! Dorena
22nd January 2013

Congrats on reaching Namibia
So glad to hear you are enjoying your adventure. We continue to play bridge, but the last two times with only 5. Works out pretty well, actually. Will be going to Seattle end of Feb to take in their big garden show....will be nice to get out of town. Almost no snow this year..what a difference a year makes!
27th January 2013

What you're missing...lol
Loved hearing about your experiences there and will look up the sites you enclosed. Eight hours on a bus--you must have seen a lot of territory. So I expect it is very hot. We had -13 at 7am when I awoke. Looked at that and went back to bed for another 3 hours. We have been getting more attending our luncheon group and it seems like a core is developing. I'm enjoying everyone. I've joined a gals' group called the Delightful Divas and we do charitable work as well as get together for pure fun. We play Bunco a couple times a month which is easy to learn, which is a plus, as new people can join in readily. Also, a group called the Tastebuds meets and eats, as well as an occasional movie. I still do some subbing at Chinook and recently filled in for library. Wish I had gotten that degree. I love books. Currently I'm reading Whose Names Are Unknown by Sanora Babb. It is an actual account of the dust storms and life during the Depression. My niece Misti is coming on Feb.8 to live with me for a time. She was born in Alaska, then they moved to Boise, and now that her two boys are grown she is returning. Oh, and I got a new car, a Toyota Venza. I want to try camping in it this summer in Homer. I hope it works because I like to take off on drives and don't always have a hotel room. Also, I have a Cairn terrier puppy ordered for summer providing all goes well with the March breeding. More next time Connie
1st February 2013

Exciting
I am speechless. Reading your blog is like watching a movie without the pictures. You are doing a wonderful thing.
7th February 2013

Happy Belated Birthday
Not sure if I am allowed a personal letter, but I don't know your email address if it has changed. Went to Normal Elliott's 94th birthday at McGinty's pub on Feb. 2nd. Stayed with Paula Johnson, and went to church and dinner with Carol Phillips. Let me know if this works and is OK. Love, Shirley
7th February 2013

Hi, greetings from Anchorage. Winter has been mild since Jan. 1. We are getting snow today--4-6 inches, which we need to protect the plants. Can\'t believe it will be Ash Wed. on the 13th. I\'m visiting Bainbridge Island in March/April and look forward to warmer weather. Your descriptions remind me of our visit to South Africa. I can visualize the villages and country in the North. Glad the food has been healthy--and some quite tasty. You are going to get lots of millet I\'m sure. More another day--so glad you have the blog!!! Nancy B-E
8th February 2013

Good to hear from you!
I finally saw your FB post and now have your blog bookmarked. I look forward to reading all about your adventure.
12th March 2013

Wendy Blog found
Just caught up with your Blogs. The are so interesting...sounds like you are just surrounded with humanity..so much interaction with others. I hope you get this. Having never blogged before I thought I would see some kind of notification when you blogged--like an email, so I started worrying about not hearing from you and the DUH I realized that I needed to go to the blog. So forgive me for not keeping in touch

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0966s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb