We are here!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
December 31st 2012
Published: December 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

After a very, very, very long trip we arrived in Windhoek yesterday, late afternoon. The airport reminded me of the airport in Charlottetown. It was way out of town, but they had met us with vans, so it was easy. On the way in we saw some gazelles.

It is now January 1st in Namibia. I need to go to bed, but wanted to let everyone know I am safe and sound here. We walked into the city today and I did pretty well in the heat. I may have melted a few poinds off, but nothing else.

I learned that my school, called a "vision school" is for kids from all over the country. Ones who are good students, but are either orphans or have no money to continue school.

It will be state of the art, and they tequested only certified teachers. I'm pretty flattered to be the one going there. There are four of us in this group who are certified.

More later, I am getting sleepy. Love to all, Wendy

Advertisement



1st January 2013

got the rest of your message
Congratulations on your placement!!!!!
1st January 2013

Happy New Year
Usually you drag into the New Year 4 hours later, but this time it was 6 hours (?) earlier! Any comment on getting your luggage plane to room?
4th January 2013

Happy New Year
You do get around! And gazelles besides!! Yours is a beautiful story, taken all together. And I wish you all the joy of a brave heart -- meantime, get some rest and keep us posted.
8th January 2013

Happy New Year
Lovely to hear from you Wendy. Sounds like everything is falling into place. Now work on those pictures when you have the time. What date do you start teaching and any idea of your class size? I am looking out on many,many inches of that white stuff!!!!! So hard to imagine sun well no so much the sun but hot!!!! Enjoy and keep hydrated! Looking forward to your updates. Love, Colin & Jill xo
21st January 2013

Salutations!
Haven't used a blog before so I've been sending messages in a couple of places. Congrats on your placement in the Vision school! I am vicariously enjoying your adventure :). Had a wonderful Christmas vacation

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb