The Green, Green Hills Of The (errr) Desert


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
February 19th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm aware that I'm about 6 weeks behind on my diary so the next couple of entries will be brief, considering I didn't do that much in the first place no ones missing much...


So I had actually driven down the road and was now in a different country. Coming from an island this is weird. What do they do for borders? Put fences up every where?

The first thing I noticed was how cold it was. The second thing I noticed was how much it was raining.

We arrived in Windoek at 6 am. My initial plan was to go to get some sleep on a nice flat bed as the coach, while comfortable for a coach didn't make for a nice relaxing slumber.

I took the free transport to the Cardboard Box and waited for the receptionist to arrive, at which point she told every one else that there was only one dorm bed.

I awoke early afternoon and decided that it was about time I discovered what Windhoek had to offer.

NOT ALOT!

All the shops, bar a few supemarkets were closed, there was not entertainment (I really would have liked to have gone to the cinema), no sports. Nothing.

After buying some food, which is also more expensive than SA, I headed back to the backpackers, all the time realising that exam results day was drawing closer and I had no distractions to keep me occupied.

After a few hours of sudoku (there really was NOTHING else to do) I made dinner and decided to call it a night.

I awoke on Sunday morning hoping to get into town and catch the shops before they closed for the afternoon again. Sunday was even worse. Only the internet place was open and not for much longer either.

I did have a couple of interesting conversations.

The first was with the receptionist at the Cardboard Box. We talked mainly about African and Asian family culotures and found out that they are both very similar. Aswell as the misplaced beleif in witch craft.

We also talked about the types of tourists that you get. The comments about some German tourists were very similar to the stereotypical English view of Germans-Of course I know this isnt true, look at Suza, who made me dinner in Durban, but still I was suprised.

Then came Monday. Exam results day. I awoke early, mainly because I couldn't sleep, and after about 5 minutes of umming and ahhing decided that I should call my brother, despite the fact that I said that I would wait to get my results I just had to know.

Well hopefully I you have read the entry for what I found out. However I forgot to mention that when I found out I let out a 'loud exclamation of joy'. I woke every one in the place up!

Next up was a conversation with a ... German couple, who were motor biking around Africa. And yes they did hear me shout with joy at 7 am on a Monday morning.

Apparently Namibia has had its heaviest rainfall in over a century, hence the green hills when I expected to see brown desert sand.

Today was the day that I was also moving on. I could afford the time, or the money, to go to Swakopmund (the place where its all 'appenin'-maily adventure sports) so the sooner I left the better. Right? Plans are great until life happens.

The bus left at 6pm giving me the whole day to kill and get ready for my second twenty hour bus ride in 3 days...

Next stamp in passport: Zambia (plus a US$65 entry visa charge).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 75; dbt: 0.1225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb