Impressions of South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
February 17th 2006
Published: March 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

On my coach ride north I had time to contemplate what little I had learned about South Africa in my short stay there and I thought I would share this with you...

Firstly SA is a beautiful country with a lot to offer virtually any one. Its also a relatively safe country if you act in a sensible way and listen to the people who live there.

The people are welcoming and helpfull and like every where in the world if your willing to open your eyes and ears a little you will always be amazed.

SA does have its problems though. There is a hangover from appartied as well as, in my opinion, a clumsily implemented affirmative action campaign that has marginilased the white and coloured populations of SA, resulting in what one person called the 'brain drain'. In other words the brightest people in SA will always try to go abroad.

The one thing that impressed me most about SA is that people don't take poverty lying down. every where I went I saw entrepreuners setting up stalls and trying to earn the best living they could I hardly ever saw any one begging on my whole trip.

Would I come back to SA?

Hell yes. There are so many things to do and explore and I wish I had more time in this amazing country of which I was so terrified of coming to I was going to fly straight out of after the safari course but thanks to Sheldon Harrison and Johan I stayed a little longer...

We made the border post at midnight and after having our bags searched we were on with the rest of journey this time in Namibia.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb