Sandbording in The Namibian Desert


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Swakopmund
August 12th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Weeeeee!Weeeeee!Weeeeee!

My first run down the dunes
What fun this was. We spent two hours sandboarding down the beautiful sand dunes.

I chose to do the lay down option of boarding vs the stand-up, like snowboarding.
They lay down people got to fly down the dunes at high speeds.

The board is basically just a floppy, wooden plank. you lay down on your stomach and hang on! I made the rookie mistake a few times of dropping my hands. When this happens, the top of the board digs into the sand and you end up eating much of the desert! That sand crunchiness in your teeth doesn't go away easily! I got clocked going 69 kilometers/hour. Fun times!

It was such a workout walking all the way to the top though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The long walk up the dunesThe long walk up the dunes
The long walk up the dunes

My arms were too short to carry the board tucked under my arm. I had to carry it awkwardly sideways or on my head!
Just BeautifulJust Beautiful
Just Beautiful

The single camera photo doesn't fully capture how pretty the dunes are.


12th August 2009

sandboarding
What...no chairlifts? or even a T Bar?

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb