2nd and 3rd week


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Swakopmund
February 2nd 2007
Published: February 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

My new hairstyleMy new hairstyleMy new hairstyle

The girls at the hostel braided my hair!
Hello,
So last week I spent all of my computer time trying to figure out why this travelblog wasn't sending out e-mails so I'll catch you all up!

Well, school is coming along, and things are getting easier but the more I am here, the more I see problems. Ok, I don't mean to complain, but let me fill you in on some of the things that happen during a school day:

1. Sometimes, teachers just don't go to a class if they don't feel like it...that means "Learners" are just left in the class for periods at a time.

2. Learners and teachers are constantly coming in and out of classes to tell you or other children something. They will just walk in and say "Ms. Jessica, I need to ask so and so for a pen?" and I'm like "NO! Go back to class!"

3. We rarely follow the schedule. Everytime I try to follow it, another teacher asks to teach during that time, or when I go to my scheduled class, another teacher has just begun a lesson.

Needless to say, I get very frustrated at times, but I just keep trying to
Girls at the hostelGirls at the hostelGirls at the hostel

Some of the girls at the hostel. Also my next door neighbor Elizebeth who is a cleaner for the hostel, she is very sweet and teaching me how to knit!
teach. When I do get to teach, I think I am doing a pretty good job for not being a teacher, but I find discipling takes all of my energy. The learners are starting to respect me (notice I say starting...the first weeks were a struggle) and I have begun to try some new things. For example, after Math class today, I told them that if they were behaving I would teach them a new game. So I tought them 7-up and they loved it!

The learners also had athletics this week so each morning the whole school went running. After the first day, they asked me to go with them and I told them I would. So each day we went running and then I would have them get in a circle and I would do stretches, and sit-ups and they loved it! I felt like an aerobics instructor! It was so much fun! Also, the girls at the hostel love to go running too, so sometimes I am running twice a day!

I also started teaching computer classes this week and it went great! They were so well behaved because they were so excited to finally get to use a computer. I just taught them the basics but it went really well

As for my free time, everyone is so nice and friendly. People just come up to me and ask me questions all the time. It's funny how they all know who I am and I am definitley struggling to remember all of their names. They also ask me constantly if I know famous people, "Do you know Oprah?" "Do you know 50 Cent?" It's so funny!

This past weekend I went with some new friends to Swakopmund...this beautiful beach town that actually reminded me of a smaller version of La Jolla, with a seal beach and all. It was great...I went swimming in the "sea" and then afterwards, we went to someone's farm, where they had a braii (bar-b-q). So fun!

So things are definitley good! I am getting more and more used to the hot weather although I am still looking forward to the rainy season, which should be coming soon!

ok, miss everyone lots! I will take pictures of the school for next time!

Advertisement



2nd February 2007

Hmmm
Now I guess we know why it's a third world country. No organization, no discipline, no nuthin' but do what you want to do when. Can't get far with everyone going in different directions. Good for you for lining them up. Keep up the good work. L, J
2nd February 2007

Look at the bright side, You could be an accountant!
Hi Jess, Just read this weeks blog. Sounds great! Do you think that they could use an accounting instructor? As long as we keep to the basics, I think I'm the man for the job. I can live on a very strick diet, very simple STEAK AND CHICKEN PARM (I like the sauce served on the side) and as far as air conditioning, people can learn to live without it. (Just not me). Oh and do you have to be nice back to the people?(Sue says I'm grumpy) and as far as a schedule, who can be more flexable than me? (Everyone knows that). You know I'm thinking here, maybe I wouldn't be the right guy for the job. O'h well. Hey wait a minute, I sure would like seeing alot of you!!!! Take care Jess, I hope to hear from you soon. Be safe. steve
2nd February 2007

Hell-o
Hi Jessi! We love reading your journals and seeing the pictures. I dig your new hair-style! You must be a wonderful new friend in the lives of everyone you touch...and they must touch you with their magic. Hope it cools off in the rainy season. Take care, love kate
2nd February 2007

how awesome r u
hi jessie we r loving these blogs and we feel so lucky to share this time with you it seems so incredible,the pictures bring so much to life for us thanks miss u and take good care of u love lynneand the svhwartz gang
3rd February 2007

Amazing!
Hey Jess, My mom just forwarded your blog to me. It sounds so amazing, what a beautiful sunset too! I hope you're taking tons of pictures. I'm sure this is really hard sometimes, but it's also the experience of a lifetime. And if anyone can do it, you can. Keep blogging, I can't wait to hear more about it! Take care and miss you! Much love, Hannah
3rd February 2007

Hi Jess! I am thoroughly enjoying every one of your entries....and kind of wishing I was in Africa again too!!! I admire you so much for taking on this adventure and being brave enough to teach all of these kids! They will remember you forever! Thanks for taking the time to update your blog and sending these great pics! You are a hero! Love ya!
3rd February 2007

Hi Jessi!!!! haven't gotten last couple of messages so i was just catching up on your life... and what excitement! UNBELIEVABLE... thats all i can really say. coming from a teacher (my whole 1 year experience), it is so hard... and thats here. can't imagine the challenges you face! also... good luck with the respect/discipline... i think thats one of the hardest parts of teaching! just remember what they say... "the 1st day is the hardest day of teaching. the 1st week is the hardest week of teaching. and the 1st year is the hardest year." so good luck... enjoy... and remember what a wonderful thing you are doing for those children. xoxo
4th February 2007

Love it!
Hi Jess - Sounds great so far. I love how open minded you and flexible you are. That is going to help keep you sane. I love learning about what you are doing and look forward to your updates. Keep them coming! Have fun and stay safe! Love, Mag
5th February 2007

Hey- Love the hair :) By the way-- it is so freakin cold here in Philly. Windchill is below zero at times (or something like that?)... it is frigid. Think about all of us buddled up here when you out on your runs in the 100+ degree weather. Also it is my nutritionist duty to make sure you are eating well with all that running... You need to make sure you refuel those muscles and replenish your fluid and electrolytes, girl!! Keep up the good work. xoxoxox ps- Love your Heads-Up 7up idea!! Don't let them peek :)
8th February 2007

Hey Jess! Sounds like you are really into the "swing of things." I know you are loving this experience. Plus, boy...do you look like your mom! Spent super bowl sunday with your family. Andi has this big basketball around her middle. Do you think it's twins? lol Everyone is well and misses you. Keep up the great work. You are such an inspiration to all of us! hugs- michelle
13th February 2007

HI
jess, sounds like you need to be promoted to principal! you're going to do a great job there!

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb