A taste of America..


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
September 29th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I've officially been here over a month. It's so hard to believe that a month ago I was just meeting all of these people..going through orientation trying to make friends with Moroccans..and exchange students..and getting used to the Ifrane area...and then of course, Ramadan.
It feels like this month has gone by so quickly but I also feel as though I've been here forever. It's a weird feeling. And not that Ramadan is almost over I'll have to adjust again to a new schedule.


Well, anyway..Saturday Kelly, Marybeth, and I went to Meknes..sadly, our goal was to go to McDonald's
and it was so wonderful to eat the fast food. I felt kind of bad to be so excited about it, but it was wierd how I was craving it. I think it was more the familiarity. I hardly ever eat McDonald's at home...but you know..here I am eating Moroccan food..mostly Ramadan/Ftour specific food for nearly a month I was ready for something different...and ahh..they had heinz..real ketchup.

after eating we did something else that felt very American..we went to Marjane..which is basically like wal-mart.
It was also absolutely wonderful to be able to buy lots of things that we needed for set prices and in one place.

unfortunately, their clothing selection for women sucked.
I was really hoping to buy shoes.


Tomorrow is the last day of classes before Eid..and tomorrow afternoon I will leave for Berkane..for my Moroccan Eid experience..
I'm sure it will be an interesting experience..hopefully not too awkward.
I'm looking forward to it.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb