عيد الشكر


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
November 29th 2008
Published: November 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well,thanksgiving in Morocco...

I was sad to be spending the holiday away from my family for the first time ever..but honestly, this turned out to be one of my favorite thanksgivings ever.

we had a dinner with basically all of the American students and staff as well as some Moroccan guests,of course.
The food was great..and we had a muliti-denominational blessing..which included a bit from the Imam (which was beautiful..I love listening to Qur'an), and then a reading from both the old and new testaments as well as a secular song.

I had a great time.

Today I went to Sidi Aidi with three girls that I tutor English to at the high school. I spent the afternoon in Laila's house with her family. It was really wonderful. They didn't speak English and not really French either but that's ok..I like to practice Arabic..and they taught me some Berber words..since her parents both primarily speak Berber.
It was very cool. And she had some adorable little brothers.

I will say that going to a Moroccan house means two things...lots of force-feeding (KUUL MANGE..whatever the Berber word for eat was..darn it I can't remember...) and lots of awkward cheek kissing.
I can NEVER get it down.sometimes it's only two (one on each cheek) sometimes its one on one cheek and then a double on the other..sometimes its just a million..
they keep you on your toes..but it makes it awkward because I can't seem to get the pattern.

ohhhh well.


in other news.....well, I am going to Germany for Eid El-Adha.
I'm sad I'm not going back to Berkane though..honestly. I really wanted to see Zak's family again.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb