Tetuan


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
December 7th 2004
Published: December 7th 2004
Edit Blog Post

TetuanTetuanTetuan

The King's Palace
Left Tangier this morning - used one of the touts to get to the bus station quickly. I could have found it myself but the touts have some uses!



I arrived in Tetuan in blazing Sun, after a 1 hour journey. I was latched onto by another tout, who wouldn't take no for an answer. I was maybe a bit soft and allowed him to follow me around. Maybe he thought he was giving me a tour I hadn't asked for. In fact I had made it very clear that I didn't want anything from him. No hotels, taxi's, tours etc. Obviously he knew I had just arrived, as I'd just got off the bus!



Anyway after about half an hour, I finally told him to go, and he asked for a tip, which I refused to give. After all, as I told him, I hadn't asked for his help, he had chosen to follow me around, so he hadn't provided me with anything I wanted. I was very firm but polite. He went off without any money from me. He also knew, because I'd told him that I'd been to Tetuan before, so I
Tetuan - inside the MedinaTetuan - inside the MedinaTetuan - inside the Medina

Chicken Tonight! (I'm sorry I couldn't resist it)
have had the guides tour around the Medina!



Anyway I found my own Pension. At about 3pm the temperature dropped and it started to rain lightly.



Despite that, I spent the afternoon and early evening exploring the Medina on my own.
There were times when I didn't know where I was, but that was no problem, I was in no hurry! But in fact, I always ended up coming back to somewhere I recognised.



Tetuan is well worth a visit, and is, bye the way a UNESCO World Heritage Site.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

TetuanTetuan
Tetuan

Inside the Medina
TetuanTetuan
Tetuan

The view from the window of my Pension


Tot: 0.476s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 136; dbt: 0.1599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb