Chefchaouen


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Chefchaouen
December 8th 2004
Published: December 8th 2004
Edit Blog Post

ChefchaouenChefchaouenChefchaouen

Plaza Uta el-Hammam, with the 15th Century Kasbah on the right of the picture
It was a short hop this morning from Tetuan to Chefchaouen - a trip of 1 and a half hours by local bus.



It was cold and wet when I arrived in the morning. When I arrived I spent some time looking around various lodgings till I found one I liked.



Whilst I was wandering the streets looking for hotels, I was offered kif (hashish). I refused all offers very firmly. Kif is a local industry in the area, for want of decent prices for other products for the local farmers.



I spent the day walking around the town - its not very big. But the medina is very attractive, and the town is in a stunning location, in a valley in the Rif Mountains. Fortunatly the sun came out later in the afternoon, after I had spent some time in a carpet shop. Yes, I let myself be entertained by a Moroccan Carpet Sales Man! I even bought a rug for someone for Christmas. I even enjoyed the bargaining.



Chefchaouen is a much more relaxed place than Tangier or Tetuan, but it is a lot of a travellers
ChefchaouenChefchaouenChefchaouen

The Medina.
hang out.



I was reading JeNeSuisPasLapin's latest journal entry, and I agree with him that as an outsider it is not easy to get a handle on Moroccan Culture. He has the advantage on me - as he is studying Arabic and will probably spend much longer in Morocco than me. I'm just passing through, on my way around the world. This is going to be a problem as I travel - I will rarely have the time to really understand the cultures of the countries I visit. I am also aware of having been watched and presumably talked about - I've had people approach me in the street who I've never met, who know where I'm staying.



The cliché is that travel broadens the mind. Does it? And does it matter?




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ChefchaouenChefchaouen
Chefchaouen

The Medina
ChefchaouenChefchaouen
Chefchaouen

Medina at night
ChefchaouenChefchaouen
Chefchaouen

Eating chicken Tagine at the Restaurant Chefchaouen.


Tot: 0.402s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 29; qc: 133; dbt: 0.1717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb