To the land of Africa I go...


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Tangier
August 7th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After several wonderful days in Marbella, we packed up and started our journey towards Morocco. We drove all along the Spanish coast, which is absolutely stunning, quite picturesque, especially at one point where there are hundreds and hundreds of the wind turbines blowing at full speed.

From the car I could see Gibraltar, the English territory in the south of Spain. We crossed the straight of Gibraltar at Tarifa and took a 40 minute ferry to Tangiers, which would be my first venture into African territory.

Immediately upon arrival into Tangiers, I could really sense the complete difference in my surroundings and I knew that the next 8 days in Morocco would be absolutely stunning and something to remember for a lifetime.

Tangiers is considered one of the most international cities in Morocco. A lot of artists, musicians and writers have lived there, although ask me to name one and I am at a loss for words...

Kenza's family have been absolutely unbelievable with me. They are so happy that I am here with them and so proud to take me around and have me visit everything. We drove around the city, in the downtown area first, before heading to Cap Spartel. It is a lookout point high up in the hills (passing before some serious villas/compounds of the king, Saudi princes, etc.) where you can see the point at which the Mediterranean meets the Atlantic Ocean. It is beautiful, and unique in the world.

After that, we headed to the Cave where it is presumed that Hercules, the great strong warrior, once lived. You go down below into a cave, the walls lined with beautiful seashells, to an open part where the rock is cut out and you can look out onto the water. Stun-ning, absolutely.

And now comes the best part. Being the partially cheesy tourist that I am, I took my first camel ride in Morocco!!!!!!!!! Even if it was around the parking lot, it absolutely did not matter. I still got to ride that camel. LOVE IT! And not to leave out anyone, there are donkeys everywhere, absolutely everywhere. I am in donkey heaven.

After all of this excitement, we drove on a few hours to Rabat, where Kenza lives.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb