The desert


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Zagora
May 19th 2013
Published: May 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today we had an excursion booked to go to the Zagora desert. Early start of 6.30am we had breakfast (consisting of many bread products) and of course Moroccan tea.

The mini bus ride was a long ass drive, around 10 hours, but we had many stops and it was beautiful as we drove through the Atlas Mountains. We also visited the kasbah, Ait Benhaddou in which some families still live today (Wiki it if you fancy).

Once we finally arrived to the desert, we were met by the Berbers and a bunch of camels who led us to our site.

The camel trek was a fun experience.

We sat down on the sand and drank tea and got to know the others in the group and the Berbers. By this time the sun was setting and it was beautiful. The guys in my group were all lovely, from Mexico, Peru, Japan, Canada, brazil and me the Brit!

Dinner time - mmm tagine of course (and bread). This was followed by a camp fire with Berber drum music and of course I got up and had a dance around the camp fire 😊 Once other groups had gone to bed, us who stayed up played games with the Berbers. I chatted to Asif who buried my legs in the sand and we just sat chatting and telling jokes & riddles...he also gave me his Berber turban to wear.

I also met an English girl named Sadie which was fab as I thought I was the only one, but she was in a different excursion group.

Bedtime must have been about 2am.

The next morning, we got up had breakfast (which you may guess - bread & tea) and trekked back to the bus by camel.

Once back in Marrakech, we all met up for dinner which was nice & prior to meeting them I had a henna tattoo done on my leg by a lady in the medina square - ripped me off but I guess you learn after once Haha. Ahh, also, Neil the canadian dude said he saw somewhere with a 'happy hour' sign (between 4pm - 11pm everyday, I found this amusing!) so we went for a couple of alcoholic beverages and afterwards took the others back to our hostel where we sat up on our terrace and played charades.

Advertisement



24th May 2013

Yay!
Loving the updates Faffy - keep them coming! Sounds like you're having a fab time, I am so excited for you. Stay safe, miss you loads x

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb