Thursday - Placement/Cooking/Music and Henna!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
October 7th 2010
Published: October 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What a busy day! We are at the Orphanage by about 8 AM and as usual I started the day with the babies in the pink nest. After bathing, changing and feeding I moved over to the 6-12 month nest. I spent most of the morning hanging with Fayoud who was very stinky! They only change diapers 4 times daily. So even if they take a big poo they have to wait until the next changing time. If we had done that with our kids I would have saved a ton of money. LOL!

I love spending time with the kids but the routine of the nurses makes me a bit crazy. With a stinky baby I want to change him/her but they won’t let me. About 11 AM they are desperately wanting to sleep but they are not allowed. They end up falling asleep in our laps, shoulders in the playpen, etc but the nurses make us wake them up. I try to hide them from the nurses but they usually spot the sleeping baby and they will either make us wake them or they will come over and hit them on the soles of their feet to wake them. Some of these children are so desperate for attention and sometimes the nurses don’t let you pick them up or hold them in your lap when the kids are crying for it. Earlier this week I had a cutie on my lap in the big playpen and the nurse was yelling at me to make him lay down. (“Glis, Glis, Glis”) This kid can toddle around so he wanted no part of that. It is a little frustrating!

After placement we came back and had a wonderful lunch. After lunch Khadija did another cooking lesson. This time she showed us how to make Msemmem. We have had these a few times for tea. Delicious!! All of the meals here have been amazing - EVERYTHING is homemade from scratch at the house. By the time we are cleaning up dishes from one meal the ladies in the kitchen are already hard at work cooking for the next meal. They are very hard workers!!
Anyway, the Moroccan Msemmem is wonderful…The recipe is below:

Ingredients
• 1 kg flour ( the kind you use for cakes)
• 1 tablespoon salt
• ½ Teaspoon Yeast
• 2-3 cups water
• butter
• Vegetable oil, for hands and surface.
• ¼ Kg of Semole

Directions
METHOD:
2. In a large heavy pan, add flour and make a well in the center of the flour, place the salt in the well and add the water small amounts at a time. Knead well to form a very smooth dough. Using well oiled hands make balls the size of a tangerine and place them on an oiled surface. (counter top, table, marble block etc.)
3. **Be careful NOT to overwork the dough by over-kneading it.
4. Also let the dough rest for some minutes.
5. Spread out the balls one by one with the palm of your oiled hand stretching the dough gently in all directions until it is very thin And spread some semole and butter over it. Fold in the 4 sides to form a square approximately 3-4 inches in size.
6. Cook briefly in a well buttered skillet on both sides until lightly browned.
7. Served with honey or Jam, these are a wonderful breakfast or snack.

After the cooking lesson we were treated to traditional Moroccan musicians. The music is played at traditional occasions like weddings etc - it was great but very loud!! They dragged almost everyone onto the “dance floor” but I managed to escape! The video I took is hysterical but the broadband access won’t let me upload video. I’ll post when I get home. So fun!

After another yummy dinner I took a shower and put on my jammies so I’d be ready for henna. Khadjia does amazing Henna designs and she did Cindy, Arlene, Heather, Susan, Maryem and myself. It was so much fun! Now, off to bed with the thick henna still on my hands. I’m supposed to sleep with it on and flake it off in the morning. It was a fun evening with great company!

Tomorrow will be my last night with alot of the group (tonight was my last night with many as well). Many are off to different weekend excursions tomorrow after placement. I have so enjoyed meeting so many of the volunteers!!

Beslama!



Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



8th October 2010

fascinating stuff
The part about the babies makes me sooooooo sad, but guess it is their way of life - yikes !! Doesn't seem right. I got some Henna tatoes when I went out west a few years ago - why on the palms and not the tops of your hands or arms ?!?! It'll last longer that way. Anxiously awaiting your return - think the guys across the street are also !! Love, PSJ
8th October 2010

Henna is so awesome! The palms are what is done traditionally in Moroccan culture. Plus the palms last ALOT longer than the top of the hand. The skin is thicker on the palm so helps hold the color. I hope all is well in the village. Looking forward to the fall weather as it is still quite hot here!! Hugs.
8th October 2010

We do miss you mom A LOT. I can't wait for you to be home!!! I miss you SOOOO much. I agree with Aunt Phyllis about the babies!!!

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb