Day #1 Introduction to the Orphanage


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
September 27th 2010
Published: September 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to the first day of placement. I felt totally shattered when I got up this morning. All the walking yesterday I should have been exhausted but I hit the wall about 11 PM last night and then couldn't sleep. It seemed like alot of volunteers had the same problem. My group has to be ready to leave at 7:40 AM so we are up early to get ready and have a little breakfast. We have to wear these lovely white smocks so we all look like doctors. LOL

When you work in the Orphanage they have several rules - the main rule is NO PHOTOGRAPHS. Boo-hoo! I wish I could take pictures to show everyone what it was like. I understand with vunerable children and the internet you have to be careful so they don't allow any pictures.

A little background on the Lala Maryem Center for Abandoned Children. They were founded in 1914 by a Frenchman and they only get about 25% of their funding from the goverment and the rest from private donations. Children live at the orphanage until about age 6 when they are sent off to other facilties/homes if they are not adopted. In order to adopt in the country of Morocco you must be Muslim. You can be of any nationality but your religion must be Islam - the process is not short either.

They started by giving us a tour. We toured 2 main buildings. The first is the babies 0-6 months, 6-12 months, 1-3 yrs, 3-6 yrs. The toddler age children just started back to school this week after Ramadan so they all head out in the morning. There are still children left in that age group but they may have slight/moderate developmental and or cognative delays.

The other building is the children with severe development and/or cognative delays. These children can be from the age of a toddler to age 23. What happens after age 23? Sadly their life expectancy is only 22-23. This area houses about 30 children/young adults. Most are in wheelchairs but many are responsive although very few talk. It was tough. I was so pleased to see that they got quite a few volunteers today to stay and help. They change their diapers, undress and wash them in the shower and then redress them. It is quite physically demanding work as well as emotionally and mentally draining.

I chose to the pink nest which is the infants from newborn to 6 months. They were all amazing and beautiful....and loud and tiring. I'm exhausted! Basically when we arrived myself, Ina and Jane were with the babies - we helped to feed them their bottles and burp them. We then tried to calm and soothe the babies - I held quite a few. I would say there were about 16 babies with the average age of about 2-4 months. As soon as you get one to sleep another starts crying, you get that one to sleep and another, and another, and another....you get the drift! The nurses pretty much disapeared after we arrived - there is alot to do and we as volunteers give them a bit of a break. The nurses work 12 hour shifts every other day for about the equivelent of $100 to $120 per month....not much!

After our placement we headed home for lunch. After lunch 1/2 the group went on a City Tour and the other half did a Cultural Insights class. I stayed behind today and we discussed our placements, weekend trips, Moroccan history, education, healthcare, etc, etc. After the talk the group of us that decided to travel this weekend are now thinking Fes instead of Marrakesh...not sure yet!

After tea several of us headed over to the Maryjane (pronounced Marajong). My best description...an Arabic Sam's Club. HUGE, HUGE! So huge I could not see from one end to the other without my glasses. They sell everything! VERY crowded and quite an experience.

We've had our dinner now and I'm thinking I should take my cold shower and settle in for the night. The babies will be calling in the morning and then after lunch I will have my City Tour.

Mselkhir (Good night)



Advertisement



27th September 2010

:)
Sounds like you are having lots of fun in Morocco!! Gets lots of sleep tonight. I love you and I will talk to you soon.
27th September 2010

wow
Thank you for the email. I am more impressed and in awe of your charity. God bless you! Mw
28th September 2010

What a day you had, it really does sound overwhelming. I think you are going to do fine though. Keep up the good work and I will talk to you soon. Love ya.
28th September 2010

Your Placement
Following your experience is something that both Liz and I look forward to each day. It really reminds us how very unfortunate life is for many people on this globe. You are incredible!
28th September 2010

Awesome
Christie, what you are doing is totally awesome and I admire you very much. Good Luck and keep the postings coming.
28th September 2010

Thanks so much...Long day today...Will work on my blog later this evening. Time is already just flying by!!
28th September 2010

Thanks so much.... We are so very lucky and we all forget how fortunate we really are... This so far has been such an eye opening experience on every level and we have just started! LOL
29th September 2010

Just figured out how to get these - sorry about the no pics, but keep up the good work - will check on the gang across the road later today - stay safe - we're thinking of ya' -
29th September 2010

Thanks so much!

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb