The Saga of the Sheep: Part One


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
July 5th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

On Thursday night my family brought a rather large sheep home for the party they were having on Friday and Saturday. The sheep was delivered in the trunk of a BMW sedan and the dad, the butcher, and I carried it up 3 flights of stairs in their apartment building to the apartment where it was tied up outside.

Then a bunch of female relatives and the daughter of the family, who is married and just had a son, who the party is for, started rearranging the apartment and I kept offering to help because they were moving some pretty heavy stuff but they kept refusing my offer.

The next day I woke up to find the sheep in the tiny bathroom just chilling. The dad explained that they had to bring it inside to make sure it wouldn't be stolen. People were still running around rearranging the apartment to make it look nice for the relatives. I went to AmidEast, took my test, and then skipped the rest of the classes (with permission) to go back and watch the sheep be slaughtered. I took many pictures and a video of the process but they are really bloody so I am only going to upload the end product of what a slaughtered sheep looks like since it looks like something you would see in Giant.

That night we ate part of the sheep (the liver and the stomach...the liver wasn't that bad actually) and then the next day the big party happened, with literally like 50 or 60 people over. That post, and the post about our day trip to Asilah (on the same day) will come soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb