An afternoon à la plage


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
June 5th 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After class today, Roger and I took a walk to the beach to meet some friends. We took the scenic route and I practiced my photography skills. Enjoy the pictures! Tomorrow, we go to Casablanca.

On another note, I committed to the Commerce school today! I am concentrating in marketing. It was definitely a tough decisions (talk about two paths diverged!) but I am very excited for the next two years. It is definitely going to be a tough curriculum but I am really looking forward to the smaller school experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The Gambas Burger!The Gambas Burger!
The Gambas Burger!

I am sure many have heard that McDonald's changes its menu based on the taste of its local customers. In Morocco they have the Gambas burger. While I am yet to try one of these savory treats, I see this ad on my way to class everyday and thought I would share it with you. Coming soon: my first Gambas burger experience.
On our way to the beachOn our way to the beach
On our way to the beach

After class, Roger and I walked home, changed, and headed to the beach on foot. As you can see in this picture Rabat's streets are pretty green.
MosqueMosque
Mosque

Other than the five daily prayers from the iman, there are occasional prayer sessions during the night that wake me up.
Moroccan Driving HabitsMoroccan Driving Habits
Moroccan Driving Habits

Pedestrian's do NOT have the right of way in Morocco.
BalnéaireBalnéaire
Balnéaire

Seaside buildings.
HelloHello
Hello

I guess these guys realized I was taking a picture. Nice of them to wave.
Fellow explorerFellow explorer
Fellow explorer

Roger, affectionately known as Mohamed by our host family, trekking along the coast. Mohamed is a Turkish film star on an Arabic television show that looks like Roger.
Old Police StationOld Police Station
Old Police Station

I took this picture because I thought the Star of David in the window was interesting. There was actually a substantial Jewish population in Morocco at one point but after WWII many moved to Israel.
Someone left their keys on a rockSomeone left their keys on a rock
Someone left their keys on a rock

Probably to go swimming.
Waste ManagementWaste Management
Waste Management

Roger and I walked along between the rocky coast you see in the pictures and an elevated road that was just over this crest. The spot in between where we were walking had a lot of trash, including this little stream and what looked like most of a car scattered about.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb