Sheep's Brain in Morocco


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Marrakech
January 14th 2011
Published: January 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Morocco is a country that a lot of people don’t know a lot about; it can be a hidden jewel for some or a total disaster for others. It can be a lot of fun or it can be a real pain. I’ve been twice and for me it was very fun both times. Casablanca isn’t for tourists, although the Hassan II Mosque is worth seeing. Marrakech is the place to go, they have mounted camel gun shows, snake charmers, monkeys, and for a fee, and you must be really stupid to do but you can have your teeth pulled with pliers. But the activities, tours, and sightseeing are not what I will be blogging about today. Food however, is more up my alley. If you may or may not know, Morocco is a Muslim country and yes that means no Alcohol and no pork, which would probably ruin every Americans life. But Moroccans have found alternatives and in my opinion quite exquisite. Lamb is the staple meat in Morocco, and since males are considered tastier, many butchers will have the penis and testicles attached to the body to prove it is male. Couscous is another Moroccan staple, which is grain, similar to rice, they have mashed sweet carrots, potatoes, and eggplants are side dishes to almost to every meal. A rare treat in Morocco is non-other than the Camel, yes you heard me right, they actually eat Camel meat in Morocco, you also get to choose which camel you get to watch slaughter and cooked underneath the sand to be cooked. I’m not even half way done with the varieties of food. Before I went to Morocco for the first time in 2009, a lot of Moroccans that I knew had told me to try Sheep Brain. Sheep’s brain is kind of difficult to explain, but first let me say I would not recommend it to anyone, it was rather disgusting it may be a required taste but I don’t know how anyone could like this. Try to imagine tasteless eggs with the texture of chocolate pudding and smell of old fish mixed with Brussels sprouts. The main square in Marrakech during the day is totally dead, so quiet its as if Carrot Top had told a joke, but during the night, it is a spectacular sight, hundreds of stalls and tents go up with lights and smoke from the cooking. Some tents offer Sheep’s Brain, some offer lamb, some offer Morocco’s National dish, Pigeon, those flying rats are actually pretty good if you ask me, some tents have escargot, freshly squeezed orange juice, apricots, raisins, tons of different spices, nuts, and olives.








Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb