Morocco


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
September 4th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The next day I got he ferry from Tarifa to Tangier. This city is not hat great and filled with scammers praying on the tourists coming in. I got taken in by a man that said he worked for the government and was to help since it was Ramadon and said I do not have to pay him. He took me to places where he go commotion I think and talked me into buying a jalaba (robe thing) since it was Ramadon and in the country part I was headed to they were not as welcoming. I found this latter to be false and did not wear it once. Later that day I meet Zachariah a nice young man that was with his German girlfriend. They showed me around and told me the best sights in the desert and told me to meet up with his brother in Fes. I left the next day and meet up with Amien and he imidietly rushed me off to my hostel then to his sisters house. His brother inlaw drove both of us on a scooter that was hardly bigger than grandpas old mini bike. It was great fun, expecialy since they drive like mainiacs in Morocco. We had to hurry since it was sun down in minutes and they could then eat. I meet the family and we had a traditional Moroccan "breakfast" at night since it was their first meal. We then had Whiskey Morocc, which is green tea with mint leaves in it, and it is about the best thing ever! We then take a walk around town. Since everyone is hopped up on the sugary breakfas they are all out on the street. We see some late night working of the fes hats and much action everywhere in the narrow streets. The whole area is car free and all the good some in by donkey or hand cart. The next day I see the town on the lift and it even more carzy with people selling everything from door knobs to every type of meat just hanging on hooks like the medieval times. They show me the Jewish quarter and it is hard to believe them when hey say they are a very tolerrant society. The Jewish cemitary had money donated from Hilary Clinton since her grandfather was burried there and it still did not look good. It. Ha to have big steel doors and barbe wire. They also said that all the Jews got rich and left town, very odd. I also bought a rug that was gorgious and had i  sent home. I was pricy but i will have it for a long time i think. The next day Amien got me a driver to Martiuga where the Saharah desert is! We passed over the atlas moutains which were nice but nothing in compaison to the desert. I took a 4x4 out to the edge of the dunes where from there I took a ride on a camel into the desert forthe night. It wad amazing! The camel man wad an old guy with one realy messed up eye, I notice lazy eyes are very very common here. I see the sun set from the back of the camel. Then we make it to the oasis where I see the well is only a few feet deep to get water! The camel man makes me dinner and I sleep under the stars, oh the stars, they were great! I wake to the camel man rousting me with uncmprehendable words and he indicates for me to climb the huge dune to see the sun rise. This dune is big to say the least and climbing it I find ihave no idea how far from the top I am. Ihonk I have a coulple hundred more feet when I am ten feet away! I see the sun rise and it too is grand. I take huge leaps down the dune and feel like Neil Armstrong. I ride back to base camp on my camel Jimmy Cow Cow and take the bus to town. The rest of the time in Morocco I mostly spend in Marrakech just resting. this city is more touristy and I see snake charmers and try the pastries of all sorts. Most are deep fried batter with tons of honey poured on them. I find my diet consisting of these to a large extent. I write this on the my flight to Barcelona. I will be leaving for Ibiza in tomorrow for a durastic change of pace from what I expiriences from what I found in Africa. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb