Medinas and Magician


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
November 12th 2006
Published: November 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

ChefchouanChefchouanChefchouan

Detail on one of the houses. All the streets were this fantastic blue shade.
Hi everyone

Well I've made it to Fez and the good news is the sun has come out!

I'm really enjoying Morocco so far, especially wandering around the old towns and getting lost in the network of alleyways. We spent a couple of nights in Chefchuaon, which is a picturesque little town up in the Rif mountains. I spent hours exploring all the bright blue streets there and staring in wonder at all the food in the markets!

Everyone on the truck has started fantasising about our favourite foods already and conversation always turns to food talk quickly, no surprise for anyone who knowsme! It's not that we don't get fed well, in fact we get more food than back home, it'sjust always a variation on one pot stew, with a different name each night! I've been adventurous and tried some of the local food too. Stalls in the street sell delicious flat breads with honey and yummy cakes!

Yesterday we went on a guided tour of Fez. Turned out to be a tour of our guide's friends' businesses as we were led into rug shops and pottery display rooms and the weaving centre. All good to
Fez friendsFez friendsFez friends

Some of the guys from our group in front of a mosque in Fez.
see but not good for the budget! In the evening we went to a 'traditional' Moroccan dinner, it was horribly touristy, although it was interesting to see a man playing a pair of scissors as a musical instrument!

I'm getting used to the bush camps and putting up a tent now, and all the interesting (and sometimes disgusting) toilets...I'm sure they can only get worse!! No major rifts between the group yet, give us time! I'm beginning to miss my independence and own space, but at least on free days like today we can escape and look after ourselves!

Only other news is that I have my first African injury...no idea what bit me but my calf swelled up and I had an incredibly painful lump for a couple of days...I'm so glad we have two trained nurses on board!

Anyway, we're off to Casablanca and the coast tomorrow so will update you with more adventures as they happen! Missing you all, fxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb