Ill with food poisoning


Advertisement
Malawi's flag
Africa » Malawi » Southern » Blantyre
December 31st 2007
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it had to happen at least once! ...Sadly it was when I had booked to stay up at Lake Malawi and had to cancel the trip. They say until you visit the lake you haven't been to Malawi; I guess that means I'll have to come back!

I was fortunate to speak with a med student friend from London, who was able to diagnose me on the phone and advise me what to do.

I'm pretty sure it was the orphanage food that made me ill, as I noticed my health getting progressively worse after the last two meals there. I have subsequently decided not to eat at the orphanage from now on (especially as it is getting closer to the long flight home), but I'm pleased that I had the experience and privilege of sharing staple meals with the children and staff.

Illness is a funny thing as it stops you in your tracks and makes you question. I guess you feel especially conscious that you're from another place and culture and should you really be here interfering. In previous discussions I've come to the conclusion - my hope is that the role of outside volunteers and workers is in joining forces with the local community, and now and then as catalysts for change.

Being ill also brings home that there is not much to do here - no television (few people have them), no cinemas, dim lighting. Two days and two nights can feel like two weeks. But recovery is a wondrous thing!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb